Multi Rotor Helicopters Discuss Multi rotor RC Helicopter's here!

Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Reply
Old 06-12-2012, 10:12 AM
  #126
cmpang
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi apejovic,

thanks for your feedback on the gimble control..

I see that you are really an expert in AP..

Frankly, I know very little aboutthe 3-axis gimble controls,it would be more easy for me to talk to the team if you can list out the functionalities and what sort of parameter setting/controls that you want...

cmPang

cmpang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 12:19 PM
  #127
morteng
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: , NORWAY
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


So after doing some more digging it seems like the FC is not passing the self-test. The photo shows the light configuration I get upon plugging in the battery and it looks like the receiver is to blame. This is weird because in the GUI the receiver channel data is displayed correctly when I plug the FC in with the USB and move the sticks on the remote.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75155.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	100.1 KB
ID:	1771520  
morteng is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 03:11 PM
  #128
apejovic
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: AdejeCanarias, SPAIN
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Mr. Pang: in my opinion for converting the rabbit into a complete gimbal controller I would recomend the team the following:

Add the possibility to set both roll and tilt servos minimum,maximum and mid values (in pulses) . That´s possible for example with Multiwii.

We already have manual tilt control with channel 7 adding manual control on roll trough channel 8 or any other channel would be good but not mandatory (handy to set up the horizon but not used very often)


For pan control (third axis) it´s neccesary to allow manual movement trough any input channel, using the controller only for gimbal allows the use of any channel including the normally non usable ones such as 1,2,3 and 4.

Using the magnetometer it would be neccesary to add a similar function to the one "head lock" already does to the multi keeping the head blocked but aplying it to the channel controlling the gimbal´s third axis. This will allow to activate that function and block the gimbal to a fixed direction no matter where the multicopter is actually pointing (very usefull in ap works).




apejovic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 06:07 PM
  #129
Jerry Campbell
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blodgett, OR
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Well, I got a box full of parts today.

RM 450 V2 Frame

5  RCTimer 2830-11 1000KV Motors

5  RCTimer 40 Amp Esc

2  Sets Carbon Reinforced 10x4.5" Props

Rabbit Flight Controller with all Sensors

5.8 Ghz Video 200 Mw TX/RX

Sony board cam with wide angle lens and two axis mount

Let the fun begin.
Jerry (with a big grin on his face)
Jerry Campbell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:27 AM
  #130
cmpang
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi,

someone link it in RCG about putting the magnometer other way round and having good result:

http://www.modelisme...grande-208.html

upon request, I have some discussion with the team, able to convince them to take the first step out.. before that, I would voice out some of my thoughts:

1. Difference in Eastern / Western culture makes us to see and think differently.
2. The way to release a testing firmware to a community is new and unimaginable for the Rabbit development team...
3. what they worry is that the fireware has not been undergone full testing and would be very ir-responsile if release to the public
4. I was able to convince them to give it a try, and ensure them all you guys here are matured people and knows what you are doing with the testing firmware..
5. so it is their first step out.. you guy like it, or not, we have to wait and see...

the fw is based on version 1.210, the only change is to make x = -x, y = -y in the compass calculation... (let alone the yaw for now, one at a time so be patient)

so please help us all and give this fw a try and feedback whatever result you've got... and one more time, do it IN YOUR OWN RISK[/b]..

BUTthe big problem is: I cannot upload ZIP files here... someone please help..

cmPang
cmpang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:34 AM
  #131
cmpang
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: apejovic

....Mr. Pang: in my opinion for converting the rabbit into a complete gimbal controller I would recomend the team the following...........



Thanks apejovic, I will on pass your suggestion to the development team...

cmPang
cmpang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:01 AM
  #132
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: morteng

[img][/img]
So after doing some more digging it seems like the FC is not passing the self-test. The photo shows the light configuration I get upon plugging in the battery and it looks like the receiver is to blame. This is weird because in the GUI the receiver channel data is displayed correctly when I plug the FC in with the USB and move the sticks on the remote.
Try doing the horizontal calibration and calibrate the esc's.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 03:24 PM
  #133
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: morteng


So after doing some more digging it seems like the FC is not passing the self-test. The photo shows the light configuration I get upon plugging in the battery and it looks like the receiver is to blame. This is weird because in the GUI the receiver channel data is displayed correctly when I plug the FC in with the USB and move the sticks on the remote.
The RX LED wont light up until it gets a valid signal from the TX that is why you need to move a stick before it will go into breathing mode.
You need to wait after powering the FC for a little while & the move the aeleron stick full in one direction, you will hear a beep & then it will go into breathing mode.

nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 07:30 PM
  #134
Soupbones
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

I had a similar issue, and nebstress is correct. Just flick you aileron stick one way and it will beep and go into breathing mode.. this issue had me scratching my head for a while. Seems the board just needs to know that the RC TX is connected and won't work till you confirm it.
Soupbones is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 07:33 AM
  #135
Geotete
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: , TX
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: cmpang

...

BUTthe big problem is: I cannot upload ZIP files here... someone please help..

cmPang
I can help with that already sent a PM.

Geotete

Geotete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:00 PM
  #136
747pilot
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Cmpang,

Here's a possible solution to your large file problem. DropBox.
Works great.

PS- I'm in Hong Kong. Just landed a few hours ago. Have the day off. Also will be back
here onthe 19th and 20th. Is there an area at the old airport I can see some RC flying?
If so please send a google map link. Thanks for all your efforts here.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf99858.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	178.4 KB
ID:	1772371  
747pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 09:16 AM
  #137
Hummingbird.RPV
 
Hummingbird.RPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Sask, AB, CANADA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi Mr Cmpang,
Iwould like you to forward my request to the Love Flight Team. I am using a standard 72Mhz PPM radio system with the Rabbit. Ihave discovered that if there is a loss of signal or interference the rabbit FC stops all the motors! To me this is unacceptable behaviour. It should respond by just maintaining the inputs when the signal was lost. I have LotusRC quads and this is what they do.They also start beeping.Makes it easy to find a downed quad in the tall grass, just listen for the beeping. I have read where other rabbit owners say their quad just fell out of the sky. This may be the cause.
Best regards.
Hummingbird.RPV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 09:36 AM
  #138
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

The missus and I spent last weekend in Las Vegas, so after donating to the casinos we came back and I was able to put together my new frame. I got a 600mm frame off GLB and decided it looks so nice, instead of fabricating a gimbal, I decided to just order the one that goes with it. Anyways, I got it all together except the gimbal and flight tested it this morning. I was hoping to save weight but didn't notice an appreciable difference. At least it looks more professional. This is good because I have made some contacts and will be maybe doing some pro work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yv65898.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	121.1 KB
ID:	1772590   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lh18832.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	120.2 KB
ID:	1772591  
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 02:23 PM
  #139
Soupbones
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

This is a great idea to have a fail safe. Maybe LF team could make this a setting. The beeping when there is no TX signal is a great idea too. Why didn't I think of this since i have one of those plane finder beepers you hook to your RX.
Another feature they could add would be autolanding when your battery voltage, monitored by the lead to the balance cable, gets low. Though the rabbit seems to do this pretty good when the voltage drops down anyway.
Soupbones is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:55 AM
  #140
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

I think before we all go asking Love Flight to add more features it would be best to get the ones we have working better/properly first.

nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 11:39 AM
  #141
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: nebstress

I think before we all go asking Love Flight to add more features it would be best to get the ones we have working better/properly first.

My personal thought is that I think some people expect far too much of a 100 dollar usd flight controller. In it's basic form with sonar and baro, it's hard to beat. It's when people start adding functions to it that they start getting into trouble. As for me, I will never probably explore gps or rth because I wanted a quad that would handle a camera in tight quarters and this one does that and more.
Now, instead of upgrading firmware, I'm ugrading things that matter to me, like a new frame, a decent gimbal and more powerful motors. I got the frame together and really like it and now I'm just waiting on the gimbal and I ordered some Hawking 3530-14 motors.
This should give me all that I need to do both higher level and lower level aerial video. The ATG 600 frame is hard to beat for the money. The camera gimbal is pretty basic and although I'm not crazy about the design, I might be able to upgrade it a little once it arrives.
I'm still using 1.203 FW with 1.101 upgrade and I have never had an issue since. For simple, stable, smooth flying it's a very pleasing setup. I'm going to keep the height hold but will probably dump the "auto land" feature. I just don't need it.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 12:01 PM
  #142
Soupbones
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

While I agree with you nebstress and Randall, the fact is, if the Rabbit is based on Multiwii code, then some of these features are already available to the multiwii, therefore could easily be implemented for the rabbit, as long as there is no extra hardware needed. Something like fail-safe is in multiwii and if anything is a great safety feature.
Soupbones is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:39 PM
  #143
Jerry Campbell
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blodgett, OR
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hello Friends,
I've got my quad put together and everything setup but the compass calibration. And thanks to Soupbones the switches on the transmitter.Everything seems to work.
The problem is # 2 ESC gets hot as soon as I plug in the battery. The motors turn in the right direction. I calibrated the esc's with the Rabbit according to Randall and everything went well.
I wonder if I got a bad ESC? Or does anyone know what the problem might be. It is a RCTimer 40 amp.
Thanks
Jerry
Jerry Campbell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:05 PM
  #144
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

If you have all the red wires connected it could be that. By "hot" do you mean you can't touch it or does it just get warmer? You might also check your bullet plugs just to see if you have one that's looser than the others.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:08 PM
  #145
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Soupbones

While I agree with you nebstress and Randall, the fact is, if the Rabbit is based on Multiwii code, then some of these features are already available to the multiwii, therefore could easily be implemented for the rabbit, as long as there is no extra hardware needed. Something like fail-safe is in multiwii and if anything is a great safety feature.
Honestly, no one has convinced me yet that this fc is based on a part of the code or even all of the code. We only have the word of people that are MWii types complaining about it. If this FC was truly MWii based or even MWii compatible, don't you think it's odd that no one has been able to load true "MWii" code onto it? You see, for me, that's the true test of their assumptions and seeing as no one has even bothered to load MWii code onto it, that tells me they are full of it. If it was truly compatible with MWii code, someone, somewhere, would have loaded the code onto it and that would have proven them right. This tells me that they obviously know their arguments are shams.
And for anyone to say that it's "not worth my time" to do so, would be utter BS after all the effort that has been expended in going after people that sell it and those that have bought it. I personally don't believe any of the "stolen code" hype. You have to remember that the people making the most noise are those that are involved in competing FC's.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:15 PM
  #146
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

...............................
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:24 PM
  #147
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Soupbones I am very disappointed & surprised at you, the Rabbit runs on Rabbit code!

nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 05:36 PM
  #148
Jerry Campbell
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blodgett, OR
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Yes all the red wires are connected and all the bullet connectors are tight .
I first noticed after checking the direction of the motors. All were cold but one, it was medium hot. after shutdown and time to cool I plugged in the battery and in a few seconds you could feel it getting warm.
I do not understand how only 1 of 4 3 amp bec's from the esc's could be supplying all the power, when there is a total of 12 amps available if that is the problem.
Jerry



Quote:
ORIGINAL: randall1959

If you have all the red wires connected it could be that. By "hot" do you mean you can't touch it or does it just get warmer? You might also check your bullet plugs just to see if you have one that's looser than the others.
Jerry Campbell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 06:26 PM
  #149
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

According to Mr Pang, if you have all 4 esc's plugged in, they sense each other somehow, and only one provides power. That's why one gets warmer than the others. One thing you need to do with a multirotor is to switch the battery from "lipo" to "nimh" on your esc programming. The reason you do this is to bypass the "low voltage cutoff"
This keeps one esc from cutting out before the others.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 08:45 PM
  #150
Jerry Campbell
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blodgett, OR
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

I called a friend who knows much more about electronic circuits than I and explained it to him. He said it depends on the way the circuit was designed butthat yes it is possible for one of the bec's to take the lead and to actually run away causing increased heat.
He said That if I cut all but one of the red wires I would probably be better off, one should be able to handle all the current the board needs.
Or I could just get a seperate UBEC.
I think I'll cut all but one and see how hot it gets first then get an external UBEC.
Thanks
Jerry


Quote:
ORIGINAL: randall1959

According to Mr Pang, if you have all 4 esc's plugged in, they sense each other somehow, and only one provides power. That's why one gets warmer than the others. One thing you need to do with a multirotor is to switch the battery from "lipo" to "nimh" on your esc programming. The reason you do this is to bypass the "low voltage cutoff"
This keeps one esc from cutting out before the others.
Jerry Campbell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:27 AM.