Multi Rotor Helicopters Discuss Multi rotor RC Helicopter's here!

Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 04:31 PM
  #1
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Rabbit-Fligh...item2570572d55
For 100 dollars they are hard to beat. Nice for carrying cameras.
If anyone is interested, I've done a short set of videos on setting up this board.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NQTLhu9vxM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-1O4vPEc20
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcaYq3BMmcg
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l80g_NOD5x8
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 01:33 AM
  #2
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi randall guess who.
Thanks for your message!
I received another Rabbit yesterday & have just noticed that the screen print on the back has changed, the motor & Rx inputs are now numbered more sensibly from 1 to 8:

Also the battery cable was slightly different so I had to investigate:
How it arrived:

After removing the heat shrink:

Looks like they have simply re-enforced the plug.

I use 3S battery's so like to change the plug to 3S instead of 4S so here the result:


nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 05:37 AM
  #3
pheonix74
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi all furnibird here.
I also got my rabbit this week and will be building it over the next few weeks. :-)
pheonix74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 05:55 AM
  #4
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Welcome to the club furnibird.

If you need any advice or help please don't hesitate to ask!

 I find the build half the fun, that's probably why I now have a warren of Rabbits as well as other FC's & always seem to have a build in progress & even while doing that am thinking of the next project.
nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:33 AM
  #5
pheonix74
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Cheers!! i will post some pics along the way. cant wait to get the bird in thr air.
pheonix74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:52 PM
  #6
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Welcome to what I hope will be a much friendlier place
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 02:00 PM
  #7
pheonix74
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Amen to that....
pheonix74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:11 PM
  #8
Jerry Campbell
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blodgett, OR
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi Randall,
I'm looking at the Rabbit controller for my first Quad build for FPV. I am also looking at the Cyclops Nova OSD.
My question is can I hook up the Nova OSD between the receiver and the Rabbit FC and use the RTH feature on the OSD.
Thanks
Jerry
Jerry Campbell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:01 PM
  #9
Soupbones
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi all.
Thought I might pop in here as well, just ordered my Rabbit with GPS and sonar today, after my Multiwii Crius board has been flying bad after the FDTI USB module decided to die recently. I would say the gyro in it is no good. Today, after much flashing and tweaking was the last straw, so I ordered a Rabbit. Hope to learn much abotu this board. Multirotor FC's are always a learning curve, specially with one y oru not familiar with.
Looking forward to learning a lot here..
Soupbones is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:30 PM
  #10
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jerry Campbell

Hi Randall,
I'm looking at the Rabbit controller for my first Quad build for FPV. I am also looking at the Cyclops Nova OSD.
My question is can I hook up the Nova OSD between the receiver and the Rabbit FC and use the RTH feature on the OSD.
Thanks
Jerry
I'm pretty sure you can't. At least I've never seen one yet that is using an osd of any kind. The gps on the rabbit allready has a rth function. I'm not using gps on mine or an osd so I'm afraid I'm not much help in that regard.
Mine has sonar, barometric height hold and autolanding. I'm using my rabbit quad to haul a camera at low levels.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:36 PM
  #11
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

I invited Mr Pang to our group as his experience has been invaluable. Hopefully we'll get enough members here to make this an interesting and informative place to share ideas.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 08:37 PM
  #12
cmpang
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi Randall, I'm here... nice to see you're still with us..
cmpang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 09:00 PM
  #13
cmpang
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong, GA, HONG KONG
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Oop... it seems I can't upload the latest firmware files (zip) here... anybody can help?
cmpang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 02:45 AM
  #14
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi all, I thought I would put up a link to the "Horizontal, Compass' & Battery Calibration manual" that I put together a little while ago, I wish there had been something like this when I got my first Rabbit :
docs.google.com/open

To cmpang, I've not been able to find a way to upload files either only links.
nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:00 AM
  #15
pheonix74
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

I have just realized how bad at soldering iam LOL
But it has begun. Powerboard done now onto esc and motors.
pheonix74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:11 AM
  #16
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

That's great!
It might seem hard now but you will be an expert by the time you've finished
nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:26 AM
  #17
pheonix74
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Thanks!! one of those skill thats gets better with time.
The faulty kk board i first tried trashed my X525 frame so it is a complete rebuild.
but is for the best from all the great videos of the wabbit.

pheonix74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:27 AM
  #18
Soupbones
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

For anyone who is looking to buy a Rabbit, with the works here they are with the sonar sensor and GPS as well, all for $139US posted, which is a pretty good price for a full featured board with baro, mag, gps and sonar ..

Just have to wait and get mine. Going to throw it firstly on to my Flamewheel frame, and see how it goes.
Soupbones is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:45 AM
  #19
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Yep Soupbones thats the best place to get them, they are the 'LoveFlight' Rabbit team that make the FC, I have bought from there & been very impressed shipping by DHL, SHENZHEN,CHINA to my door (UK) in 4 days & the packaging was good too:
After removing DHL Packet:

Inside Box:


I put one of my Rabbits on my 330 Flame wheel & it flys great! (thats on the default setting for 300-400mm in the GUI)

nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:50 AM
  #20
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Compared to the KK the Rabbit is a breeze to set up & a real joy to fly.
nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:13 AM
  #21
pheonix74
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

I got mine from goodluckbuy because the above store doesnt do paypal which is a shame.

pheonix74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:18 AM
  #22
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

It is a shame that they don't take PayPal, buying the Rabbits from Love Flights AliExpress store is the first time i have used anything other than PayPal for a very long time but I didn't concider it a risk.
nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 06:19 AM
  #23
tony3di
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tondela, PORTUGAL
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

I´m here.
Hi Randall. Long time no see
Hope i can be of some help.
Cheers
tony3di is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 12:52 PM
  #24
randall1959
Thread Starter
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

I've been doing some testing and I've come to the conclusion that all the power plugs for all the esc's are connected, so in theory ALL of them are powering the board. If you check you'll find continuity from M1 to M8 across all the power wires. That would mean to me that all of them are as one.
Welcome to the group Tony.
Maybe at least here we'll get some peace.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:47 PM
  #25
nebstress
 
nebstress's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PlymouthDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit Multirotor Control Board.

Hi Randall,
I stopped using the UBEC & re connected all of my ESC's properly nearly a week ago & all is fine.
If all of the ESC's BEC's were powering the FC it would be receiving 20V+, all of the connectors will show continuity but there is electrictrickery going on just after the connectors (resistors?). Even with all the ESC's BEC's connected only one will provide all the power to the FC but if that one were to fail one of the others would take its place. After flying my Quad one of my ESC's is always hotter than the others, that must be the one that is supplying the power.
nebstress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:53 PM.