NitroModels Support Click here to have all your questions answered directly from the NitroModels support team.

New F18 70mm Adding rudder capability

Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 04:06 PM
  #1
wan2fly99
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New F18 70mm Adding rudder capability

Just purchased the new F18 70mm fan

Watching a video one of the people at nitro said he had modified to add workable rudders.

Is there anywhere where I can look to see how it is done?

Thanks

Anthony
wan2fly99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 02:57 PM
  #2
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New F18 70mm Adding rudder capability

Because of the dual fins, I'd imagine the easiest thing to do is to put a servo on TOP of the plane to drive both rudders.
That servo faces UP with the control horn on top. You then use a straight two arm servo arm...

Pushrods can then be connected to your newly cut out and hinged rudders on both inner sides of the rudders.

The biggest difficulty is making a cutout for the servo, and routing the wires.

You can hinge the rudder with CA hinges, using foam safe CA, white glue or epoxy.

If you are using CA you should use the thicker stuff and do one side of the hinge at a time.

IMHO epoxy or white glue is easier though allow at least a day or more for the latter to dry.


Bare in mind doing this will really screw up the C.G. so mark it before you begin then rebalance the plane to the same spot when you are done.
opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 03:07 PM
  #3
wan2fly99
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New F18 70mm Adding rudder capability

Thanks for that info. Will probably do that even thought lot of people who have rudder on say the F-16 say its useless

Thanks for the help and info
wan2fly99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:30 PM
  #4
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New F18 70mm Adding rudder capability

Yeah. I really found no reason to do it.

Even in a cross wind the plane floats in so well that you can typically bring it in at an angle to the runway, then let it drop and land in the width of the runway.

You can also turn it in just before landing to align as well.

I haven't bothered with the rudders as I don't miss them.
opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:35 AM.