NitroModels Support Click here to have all your questions answered directly from the NitroModels support team.

Prop Shaft

Reply
Old 11-27-2012, 06:07 AM
  #1
TheNewKid
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: , GA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Prop Shaft


I broke the prop shaft on my Dynam J-3 Piper Cub,(which is an excellent flyer, bythe way),and found that replacements were out of stock. Rather than wait forever for you to re-stock, I ordered an entire new motor. I still would like to have a shaftso I cankeep the original motor as a spare. Is there any other motor shaft that will fit, perhaps with a simple shortening ? Seems to me that something like thatwould be fairly common among small brushless motors. Perhaps something from another manufacturer could be used, as long as the diameter and threaded section is correct. Any ideas ?

I find your shipping times on available items to be quite good, butshipping costs are unusually high on small items.Perhaps because things that could be sent in a simple padded envelope are shipped in a larger than necessary box. You might want to look into that !!

>>>> TheNewKid
TheNewKid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:13 AM
  #2
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Shaft

Check the prop shaft specs with a Micrometer if they were not provided with the plane.

Usually replacements are somewhat easy to find from many different sources.

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:31 AM
  #3
TheNewKid
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: , GA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Shaft


Quote:
ORIGINAL: opjose

Check the prop shaft specs with a Micrometer if they were not provided with the plane.

Usually replacements are somewhat easy to find from many different sources.

.........and those "many different sources" would be ???

I'm fairly new to the hobby, sosuggestions would be helpful !! Do these "sources" actuallyprovidedimensions, or just "this shaft willfit XYZ Brand, model ABC motors"?

>>>> Thanx, TheNewKid

TheNewKid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:33 AM
  #4
RTCharlie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 100
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Shaft

I'm checking with the warehouse manager to see when he's expecting a shipment from Dynam. We're trying to get another shipping courier so we can get more competitive rates, and add a option on the website for small orders that can go out padded envelopes.  

-Charlie
RTCharlie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:36 AM
  #5
TheNewKid
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: , GA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Shaft


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RTCharlie

I'm checking with the warehouse manager to see when he's expecting a shipment from Dynam. We're trying to get another shippingcourier so we can get more competitive rates, and add a option on the website for small orders that can go out padded envelopes.

-Charlie

Thanks for your prompt reply. Much appreciated !!!

>>>>> TheNewKid
TheNewKid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:42 PM
  #6
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Shaft


Quote:
ORIGINAL: TheNewKid


Do these ''sources'' actually provide dimensions, or just ''this shaft will fit XYZ Brand, model ABC motors'' ?

>>>> Thanx, TheNewKid
Just dimensions.

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:57 PM
  #7
TheNewKid
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: , GA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Shaft


Quote:
ORIGINAL: opjose


Quote:
ORIGINAL: TheNewKid


Do these ''sources'' actuallyprovidedimensions, or just ''this shaft willfit XYZ Brand, model ABC motors''?

>>>> Thanx, TheNewKid
Just dimensions.



So....... are the "sources" a secret, or will ya share the info ??
TheNewKid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:14 AM
  #8
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Shaft

PM sent.
opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:13 AM
  #9
TheNewKid
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: , GA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Shaft


Quote:
ORIGINAL: opjose

PM sent.
Thanks much for your PM. I'm out of town right now staying at a hotel with really crappy slow internet service. Probably won't check back with the forum until i get back home.....
TheNewKid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:56 PM.