Community
Search
Notices
O.S. Engines Support Ask Bill Baxter your questions about O.S. Engines.

1.20 AX

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2012, 06:58 PM
dbacque
My Feedback: (3)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1.20 AX

The OS web site states that the 1.20 AX "fits in the same space as a .91" and that it "will bolt right where the .91 used to be." Exciting claims!

So I purchase a 1.20 AX to replace the .91 FX in a plane I've been flying for several years. I expected modifications to the cowl and the muffler tunnel but was I in for a surprise. The crankcase for the .91 measures 1.7" wide while the 1.20 measures 1.86". How the heck does that "bolt right in where the .91 used to be"?

Bolt holes to prop washer distance is also different. Bummer on the fact that you want a good spinner fit. But don't worry, it will bolt right in. Yeah, after you buy a new motor mount, redrill your firewall for the new mount and then drill and tap the new mount.

In the last 35 years I've only purchased OS engines and have been incredibly pleased with their products, services and published information. I still would have purchased this engine if I had known that there was a mount difference. But based on the advertising I was completely unprepared for the install. Now I have to revert back to the previous engine while I wait for more parts to arrive.

Sounds like misleading advertising to me.

Dave
Old 06-12-2012, 06:04 AM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: 1.20 AX

The advertising says the engine fits in the same space, but doesn't say the mounting pattern is the same. There are differences, but the overall size allows the 1.20 to go where a .91 went.
Old 06-12-2012, 03:19 PM
dbacque