Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

55 ax: Bubbles? Help Diagnose, Please!

Engine is running in Goldberg Sr. Falcon ARF. I'm a newbie, and have only taken the controls for a few minutes once it's airborne, otherwise my experienced buddy is flying it (and loving it!). I bought the engine used from an experienced flyer who broke it in on a bench & then flew only 2-3 times on a plane; it was pristine when I got it, but not brand-new.

Starts great, runs great on ground, and sounds great in air....for about 3-5 min.

Then you start to hear a bit of sputtering, brief dropouts to the point where you don't want to push it any more & probby want to bring it in. Haven't lost power fully in flight, but of course, that's the big worry. This same 'behavior' has occured several times on several flights, not just once.

My buddy was thinking it might be air bubbles in the tank; it flies fine until the cumulative vibrations start making bubbles, in theory. We're thinking that it might be because of the way I have the tank set up without any real padding It's tight in the space behind the firewall, so my 11oz tank sits directly atop the Rx battery (which is velcroed to the fuse), it's held firmly on the sides by support/strengthening 'beams' on the fuse, and then I have maybe 1/8" or less of padding on the lid of the fuel-hatch cover. In a nutshell, the tank is defacto 'connected' to the fuselage vs. having padding on sides/bottom/top.

I could see how that could cause bubbles but I want to ask if