O.S. Engines Support Ask Bill Baxter your questions about O.S. Engines.

OS Max FS 62V Four Stroke

Reply
Old 01-02-2013, 02:25 PM
  #1
steveweston
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kingman, AZ
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OS Max FS 62V Four Stroke



I have a new FS 62V engine.
So far I have about 25 minutes of break in time and need advise.
I hooked up everything as per the manual and the thing is difficult to start.
I have found that if it has too much fuel ( even a small amount ) it will not fire.

I also found that it runs better and idles better if the muffler nipple is NOT hooked up to the fuel tank.
That is opposite of what the manual and my club members say.

I find that if I swing a large prop it idles most excellent.

Your four strokers with experience, please discuss how your engine is set up....

Thanks
Steve Weston

steveweston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:24 AM
  #2
Bax
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 19,432
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max FS 62V Four Stroke

Your engine may not have enough running time on it, yet. If it's too rich, it's normal for it to be difficult to start. If fuel tank pressure doesn't help running, then don't use it. It usually helps, though. If the engine runs well with the prop you're using, and your airplane flies nicely, then it's the "correct" prop. Remember, you must have the engine running well, and then whatever prop allows the engine to run well and then allows your airplane to fly the way you want it to, is the "correct" propeller.
Bax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:29 AM
  #3
steveweston
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kingman, AZ
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max FS 62V Four Stroke

Thanks Bax.

I m swinging a 14X6 wood prop.
It seems to run "scale".
The 62 V has pleanty of power for my GP J-3 Cub.
I will continue to fiddle with the break-in and report back.

Steve
steveweston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:46 PM
  #4
steveweston
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kingman, AZ
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max FS 62V Four Stroke

OK here is an update on my new OS FS 62V four stroke.

It doesnt run......

Here is my story and I hope yous can help me out...

I did have it run for short "break in" periods. That was two weeks ago or so....

It has about 20 minutes of total time. Never has been easy to start and today it doesnt want to fire at all.

I pull the glow plug, check for hot glow= its good.

I do what the manual said = open the needle three to three and one half turns.
When it did run it was best to have the needle at four turns.

I found it best to start with the throttle half way open. Totally open and it doesnt start.

I just dont get it. I ve never had these issues with my other engines.....

What do you suggest ???

Steve in Kingman AZ
steveweston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:44 PM
  #5
steveweston
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kingman, AZ
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max FS 62V Four Stroke

1-20-2013 todays update.

Got her started.
Runs best at 4 turns open on the needle.
Idles good. patata, patata patata.
Full power is typical four cycle. Rhorrrrrrr.....
Midrange is rough. Maybe rough is the norm ????

Again, starts best at half throttle. Then I go to full throttle and adjust to best RPMs. That is the four turns open.
Pull throttle back to idle.
Then to 50% to 70% is spitter, spat, sputter......rough....

But its running. I put about 30 minutes on the clock today which means I have about one hour TT on the hobbs....

Steve
steveweston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:58 AM
  #6
Bax
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 19,432
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max FS 62V Four Stroke

Having to open the high-speed needle so far tells me that you're just not getting fuel pressure. You may not have enough pressure going to the engine from the muffler, your fuel line may be too small, or there may be some obstruction in the fuel system.

Generally, you set up a carb so that the idle mixture is very rich, get the engine running and find the high-speed needle setting. This may take time until the engine is broken-in enough to allow leaning to peak RPM. Then, you can retard the throttle and adjust the idle RPM and idle mixture.

All that being said, if your engine demands that the needles be open more than expected, but it's still running well and not too lean, then the settings are correct. Basically, if it's working right, you're OK.
Bax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:03 AM.