Community
Search
Notices
O.S. Engines Support Ask Bill Baxter your questions about O.S. Engines.

Hyper 50 Blown Piston again!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2008, 10:33 AM
crackajack

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hyper 50 Blown Piston again!!

HI all,
I must say this is the first time I have had so much trouble with an OS engine! I have a brand new Hyper 50 in a T-Rex 600 and it has had less than 5 ltrs of fuel through it.
It killed 4 glow plugs in the running in period, did a ring after 2.5 ltrs (changed the piston and ring) and today blew a hole through the new piston. I don't get it!!
I've been flying glow helis for 4 years so I have half an idea on what I'm doing. I changed all fuel lines so there are no splits or kinks etc and cleaned the carby.
The engine behaved the way it should during the break in.
Started with 2 turns on the high end needle and left the factory low end. Heaps of smoke, very rich! cool to touch after 2 or 3 flights then all of a sudden she goes bang!!

Considering the rubbish bin for this one and a Thunder Tiger PRO H 53 instead

Any tips or suggestions?

Cheers
CJ
Old 06-09-2008, 10:04 AM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Hyper 50 Blown Piston again!!

Without seeing the engine, we'd have no way to know what the difficulty might be.

If you find a hole in the piston, you'll need to investigate the reason. Did you use a piston lock when the flywheel was tightened onto the engine? That's a primary source right there. It will stress the piston enough that if it doesn't break when you tighten the flywheel, it will soon.