Community
Search
Notices
Off Topic Forum - Cars, Trucks, Buggies and more Get to know your fellow RCU member modelers in here and discuss off topic non-rc stuff. Only two topics OFF LIMITS are religion and politics. This forum for car & truck members. Plane & Heli members have their own in clubhouse section.

Potato Cannons

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2009, 06:18 AM
HPI_Savage_RC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Potato Cannons

Not sure if this is allowed, since the last time I posted this thread on an R/C forum, it turned into a huge argument, complete with deluded over-zealous safety fanatics, lots of unnecessary legal debating, and maybe a handful of people who actually posted cannons of their own. I'll try anyway...

Anyone here into potato cannons? I've been building them for quite a few years, and they are extremely entertaining. This is my current potato launcher, which I built back in February 2008. It's quite a bit more sophisticated than your average cannon. The fuel is Propylene gas, which is metered using a volumetric metering system to create a stoichiometric mixture with the air inside the chamber. There's an internal fan to mix the fuel and air, vent the combustion products, and turn the gas flow from a laminar into a turbulent flow, which increases the burn rate of the fuel. It has 2 spark gaps inside the chamber, powered by an electronic BBQ igniter. It's breech loaded through aluminum lever clamp fittings. The chamber was designed such that all of the fittings mount inside the main chamber pipe, which creates a streamlined appearance, and blah blah blah...

Enough about me. If you have a potato gun, or have ever built one in your life, post your stories and/or pictures here.

And yes, I'm aware that I suck at photography.
Old 11-28-2009, 08:28 AM
tommygun32

Default RE: Potato Cannons

[X(][X(][X(]...ME WANTS!!!!!

Can you show a picture of your breech??
Old 11-28-2009, 09:09 AM
redfisher1974

Received 1 Like on 1 Post