Off Topic Forum - Planes/Helis Get to know your fellow RCU member modelers in here and discuss off topic non-rc stuff. Only two topics OFF LIMITS are religion and politics. This forum for airplanes and heli crowd. Car or truck fans have their own in car section.

Flight simulator

Reply
Old 03-01-2012, 07:25 AM
  #1
orthobird
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 728
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Flight simulator

Can I fly now?

I have been practicing with an Aerofly 5 simulator

And now, my crash to land ratio is down from 100 to 1

To about 1 in 10

Do you think I am ready to fly a extra 260?
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 02:39 PM
  #2
guver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight simulator

Hi, welcome to RCU.

I don't think so mostly because of the plane you listed.

Beyond that if I understand your ratios now you may crash 10% of the time , and it may be good idea to get a trainer type plane and buddy box.

I shouldn't preach though since my ratio probably wasn't even that good when I first tried by myself. If you are willing to spend the money for crashes then it would be fine.

Fly a few dozen flights on the SIM while you add up parts and repairs and see if you'd be willing to "buy that" Also bear in mind that the crash ratio on the SIM may not be an accurate indicator of your RC crash ratio.
guver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:40 PM
  #3
orthobird
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 728
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight simulator

went out to air field today with the extra 300 electric BNF.  was able to fly plane twice, very fast.  just like when i used simulator.  i landed plane twice.  not a scratch on it.  it was very windy.  i was able to do rolls, knife edge, loops, bank turns, box pattern flight.  very fun!!!
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:42 PM
  #4
tapkoote
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight simulator

sounds like a set up
tapkoote is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:57 AM
  #5
guver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight simulator


Quote:
ORIGINAL: cshahrdar

went out to air field today with the extra 300 electric BNF. was able to fly plane twice, very fast. just like when i used simulator. i landed plane twice. not a scratch on it. it was very windy. i was able to do rolls, knife edge, loops, bank turns, box pattern flight. very fun!!!
Sounds like you're ready after all. Nice job.
guver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:07 PM.