Community
Search
Notices
OMP - Ohio Model Products Support Forum Discuss products and get support from OMP. This forum is operated by the owners of OMP and your support questions or complaints will be handled as OMP deems appropriate.

Warped fuse

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2005, 09:57 AM
Jon B
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Warped fuse

I'm working on an OMP 47" 540 Edge. I used wood glue to glue the balsa sheeting to the foam core. Initially the fuse was straight as can be but after a few days it developed a warp. When laid on a flat surface, the center of the fuse is about 1/4 inch up off the surface. I was thinking that if I wet both surfaces of the fuse and then weighted it down on a flat surface for a couple of days, this might take the warp out.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to the sport and this is my first kit build.

Thanks,
Jon B.
Old 07-11-2005, 07:26 AM
AFSalmon
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: Warped fuse

What kind of glue did you use to sheet this and what process? A few have had this happen when using some glues or not assuring their table was flat when building but it may be able to be fixed. Try the water and ammonia mix and wet both sides but don't soak them. Just wet the balsa enough to loosen the grain structure and then weight the fuse down on a flat surface. You will want to raise the front and back so you exaggerate the bending the opposite way it is now. Give that a try and let us know if it works.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:38 AM
Jon B
My Feedback: (2)

How much ammonia should I add to the water? I used Titebond II "Premium Waterproof Wood Glue." As I mentioned in my original post, the fuse was perfectly straight initially. The warp showed up a few days later.

Thanks for your suggestions.
Old 07-14-2005, 11:43 AM
AFSalmon
My Feedback: (3)