OMP - Ohio Model Products Support Forum Discuss products and get support from OMP. This forum is operated by the owners of OMP and your support questions or complaints will be handled as OMP deems appropriate.

OMP Edge 540 V3

Reply
Old 03-11-2008, 02:29 PM
  #1
Blitzz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gander, NL, CANADA
Posts: 295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OMP Edge 540 V3

Hello

Well I have been looking into 3D planes and this is the plane that is the most appelaing to me. I have a few questions that I want to get answered tho. I have tryed emailing OMP but it has been a while and I have sent two emails with no response. I was wondering if this plane will need any servo extensions or Y Harness's? Also I was wondering if this plane will work out with a OS 55AX(already bought), a spektrum DX6i Radio system, Four HS475BS servos for the control surfaces and a HS55s Micro servo for the throttle. Let me know if this will work out or not. Also one more question and that is what would be a good prop to use with the OS 55AX for 3D?

And if anyone knows when is the earliest I can get one of these birds!!!

Thanks A Lot

Jason
Blitzz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 08:34 PM
  #2
AFSalmon
 
AFSalmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OH,
Posts: 4,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

Hi Jason. I did get both your emails and responded. Hopefully you have them. Check your spam filter maybe. The 55AX and the Spektrum will make a great combo. Use a 12-4 or 13-4 prop for 3D. Make sure you use the full range rx and not the parkflyer version. Also don't use the HS55 for a throttle. That servo is not rugged enough for glow applications. Use the HS 81 or 85 for throttle servos. The next batch of V3 Edges is already being built and we expect to have them by mid to late April. If you have any other questions shoot away!
AFSalmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 02:17 PM
  #3
Blitzz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gander, NL, CANADA
Posts: 295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

Alright thanks A lot! Now to order myn!!!

Jason
Blitzz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:20 PM
  #4
deathspiral
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: tiburon, CA
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

Looked great, but the price is now $189.00. Guess I'll have to go for the Kat V2 .46 at $139.00... My guess, they're getting a few emails right now...what happen to the boxxer? Could it be the $200 price point?
deathspiral is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 08:51 PM
  #5
The Toolman
 
The Toolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Ozarks, MO
Posts: 1,921
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3


Quote:
ORIGINAL: deathspiral

Looked great, but the price is now $189.00. Guess I'll have to go for the Kat V2 .46 at $139.00... My guess, they're getting a few emails right now...what happen to the boxxer? Could it be the $200 price point?

All arfs have went upa bunch! But the Edge V3 is still the best buy out of the 2 IMO even if it has went up some. I think I pd $159 about 1 1/2 years ago. Gas was about 2.25 then also..........

By the way, mine has a OS 55ax an flys perfect.
The Toolman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 07:18 AM
  #6
AFSalmon
 
AFSalmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OH,
Posts: 4,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

This is correct and trust me I wish I could produce and sell models for much less. I fly as hard and as much as anyone out there and go through several profile planes a year. Ask any ProBro I've flown with. Burned over 3 gallons of Cooper Fuel at the Nashbro this weekend. But times are changing folks and everything has gone up. Labor, material, and most of all shipping! And to make matters worse profit margins are going down. If this trend continues little guys like me won't be able to afford running a business.
AFSalmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 12:29 PM
  #7
obriendigital
 
obriendigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waverly, NE
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

I am considering buying a profile, more specifically an OMP product (either the Edge or ProYak). I have not had a profile before and was wondering how they handle the wind. Also, does wind make them a challenge to land?
obriendigital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 04:47 PM
  #8
The Toolman
 
The Toolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Ozarks, MO
Posts: 1,921
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

Quote:
ORIGINAL: obriendigital

I am considering buying a profile, more specifically an OMP product (either the Edge or ProYak). I have not had a profile before and was wondering how they handle the wind. Also, does wind make them a challenge to land?

To Bad ya wasn't closer or I'd sell ya mine for $300 ready to go with your rx. Probably less than 10 flights on it an in a-1 perfect shape. New os 55ax, all HD Ball brg Hi-Tec servos, tehterite landing gear + other goodys. I just lost interest in it an now I'm more into ham radio....

Ron
Warsaw, Mo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Om33194.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	1178047   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq52112.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	66.5 KB
ID:	1178048   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lq36203.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	1178049   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sm29349.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	1178050  
The Toolman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:12 PM
  #9
obriendigital
 
obriendigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waverly, NE
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

Thanks Ron, looks like a good setup. I have an engine and servos already that would work well. So, how do they handle the wind? And land?
obriendigital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:16 PM
  #10
The Toolman
 
The Toolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Ozarks, MO
Posts: 1,921
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

No big deal on landing, they just float down with that big wing. I only flew mine a few times an it wasn't windy, so I can't help ya there. Just wasn't my thing flying profiles. I'm more of a roundy round guy.

I will tell ya, that I sure do luv my HH Tango though. It's my favorite fun plane to fly. It'll do things that you can't do with a normal plane....


Ron
The Toolman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 06:52 AM
  #11
AFSalmon
 
AFSalmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OH,
Posts: 4,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OMP Edge 540 V3

Flying the OMP Edge or ProYak in the wind is easy and actually a lot of fun. They handle the wing exceptionally well and honestly one of my top choices to fly when it is really windy. Doing rollers or HAKE stationary over the runway is a blast. Landings are also fun as you can float straight down onto the landing gear with zero ground speed.
AFSalmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:26 PM
  #12
OldFart1
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance , CA
Posts: 790
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mike, changed radios in my 540 (the older red/white/blue version), aileron centering is off. IIRC - there was an alignment guide for this - of course i tossed it ages ago.....

Help Mr Wizard
OldFart1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 01:24 AM
  #13
spyder53
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am considering buying an omp edge 540. Will a thunder tiger 40 be an acceptable engine for this plane? and what color schemes are currently available? I like the green an white checker board but web site currently shows out of stock.
spyder53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:54 PM.