OMP - Ohio Model Products Support Forum Discuss products and get support from OMP. This forum is operated by the owners of OMP and your support questions or complaints will be handled as OMP deems appropriate.

47" Pro Yak Questions???

Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 12:10 PM
  #51
AFSalmon
 
AFSalmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OH,
Posts: 4,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

You're welcome Wingspam. Glad the shippers are getting better on handling!
AFSalmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 06:33 PM
  #52
Wingspam
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: fort worth, TX
Posts: 465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Whats the best way to secure the battery into the wing?
Wingspam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:50 PM
  #53
rcplanenut
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Peterstown, WV
Posts: 271
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

I usually wrap it in foam and wedge it in towards the T.E. or glue a piece of balsa in to hold it in place.
rcplanenut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:28 PM
  #54
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Or, the LE depending on how our plane's balance comes out....

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 05:04 AM
  #55
Wingspam
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: fort worth, TX
Posts: 465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

I completed my yak this weekend without too many problems, the main problem area is getting the wing tubes into both wings without them sliding farther into 1 wing or the other. I think a stop in one or both wings would have helped out there. The other problem occured when I was tightening the wing bolt down, about 5 or 6 threads in, it would get real tight. Over and over I tried with the same results, so I gave it a few more turns and the wood block holding the blind nut broke off. So after a quick trip to ACE the problem was solved, I grabbed a new metal bolt and nut, cut a hole in the other wing so I could get a wrench in there and cranked it down.

So off to the field I go, new plane and battery and a well seasoned Os 55ax, (off my F-22) turning a 13x4w apc prop. The temp at the field was a sunny 37 degrees with about a 10 to 15 mph wind. Filled it up, taxied out and into the air she went, I just needed a little elevator trim and it was flying hands off, 4 minutes into the flight I called out no throttle control, but managed to get it on the ground without out any trouble. After landing the throttle control was back, but the servos was barely moving, grabbed the volt meter and the battery was under 5.6 volts and dopping like a rock. This is one a 6 volt pack, I checked it 2 mins before I took off and it was at 6.7 volts.

Wingspam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 12:19 PM
  #56
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Was working on getting my Yak together today. As I tried to slide the wings onto the fuse over the carbon rods, the whole end of the left wing collapsed/crushed [:@]!!!! The fit is snug, but didnt feel tight enough for this to happen. CAUTION!
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 11:46 PM
  #57
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Will I be able to get the servo wiring in the tail through the fuse using extensions with connectors, or will I need to learn to solder for this one?
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 02:22 PM
  #58
AFSalmon
 
AFSalmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OH,
Posts: 4,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Wingspam
So off to the field I go new plane, new plane and battery and a well seasoned Os 55ax, (off my F-22) turning a 13x4w apc prop. The temp at the field was a sunny 37 degrees with about a 10 to 15 mph wind. Filled it up, taxied out and into the air she went, I just needed a little elevator trim and it was flying hands off, 4 minutes into the flight I called out no throttle control, but managed to get it on the ground without out any trouble. After landing the throttle control was back, but the servos was barely moving, grabbed the volt meter and the battery was under 5.6 volts and dopping like a rock. This is one a 6 volt pack, I checked it 2 mins before I took off and it was at 6.7 volts.

Wow, congrats on getting the plane down safe. I learned a lesson years ago never to trust even brand new battery packs until I've cycled them on a charger a couple of times to verify the capacity. Had a brand new battery on a chopper fail after a few minutes of flight.
AFSalmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 02:25 PM
  #59
AFSalmon
 
AFSalmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OH,
Posts: 4,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ro347

Will I be able to get the servo wiring in the tail through the fuse using extensions with connectors, or will I need to learn to solder for this one?
If you use the JR/Hitec style connectors which are slightly thinner than Futaba it is no problems. Another popular option profilers do is remove the connectors from the plastic connector housing and press the male pins individually into the female pins. Be sure to put heat shrink tubing over each of the three individual wires and then one piece over the three together. No soldering required this way.
AFSalmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 03:29 PM
  #60
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Thank you AF!
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:48 PM
  #61
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Could someone please post a pic of an installed OEM tailgear. Im not understanding how to secure to fuse using hardware I got with ARF. I was thinking of replacing with a Sullivan tailgear setup as Ive done with most of my ARFs....but not sure if I would get enough clearance for the rudder.
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 06:03 PM
  #62
Wingspam
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: fort worth, TX
Posts: 465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Ro347
I used a Sullivan tail wheel on mine, i just put a small shim under the white plastic part of the tail wheel to clear the bottom of the rudder and it works great..
Wingspam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:05 PM
  #63
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Wingspam

Ro347
I used a Sullivan tail wheel on mine, i just put a small shim under the white plastic part of the tail wheel to clear the bottom of the rudder and it works great..
Went out and got a sullivan today...clearance is fine. Thanks!
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 03:33 AM
  #64
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

I'm going to take Mike's advise and go with the stock tail skid (no wheel) on my ProYak, grass runway and all.

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 05:52 PM
  #65
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Does the receiver and battery pack go in the same wing?
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:10 PM
  #66
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Where's the hatch on your Yak? (haven't built mine yet) It's easiest to put the rx right there where the hatch is. The left wing is a good place to put the battery in though to offset the weight of the engine being on the right side.

Are you using 2.4G? If not, the antenna can be run through the wing. Just make a big loop, out the end and then back through the other holes in the ribs.

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:21 PM
  #67
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Ive got the hatch on the left wing. Yes I am using 2.4....so both will be going in the same side. Ive too thought about offsetting the weight of the engine..so makes sense. The manual leaves you having to think for a bit before making final decisions.

Tip - worked for me - when installing the 2.4ghz receiver, I laid down two squared balsa strips and CA'd, then two more perpendicular strips over those just a little wider than the receiver. This allowed me to be able to set the receiver in over a little foam strip, and zip tied in place.


Thanks.



ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:19 PM
  #68
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

They made you think? Thanks for the warning when I get my Yak out of the box! A refund might be in order. Just kidding. It's a great plane, the best out there.

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 11:38 PM
  #69
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ernie Misner

They made you think? Thanks for the warning when I get my Yak out of the box! A refund might be in order. Just kidding. It's a great plane, the best out there.

Ernie
Noooo no refund! Dont get me wrong...its a nice looking little plane. I have yet to fly it. Ive always built planes where the instructions were very detailed. This one , well not as much, but if you've built arfs before, just takes a second to figure it out. Pretty simple. If you have questions as I just built mine, PM me.
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 07:40 PM
  #70
Wingspam
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: fort worth, TX
Posts: 465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

I now have 15 flights on my Yak and I have to say this is one nice flying plane. I am using a 13x4w apc prop and it seems to work well on my 55ax, its a little slow to spool up so I haven't had the best luck getting it to hover, but it will knife edge forever. I just purchased a 13x4 zinger and I hope to get to try it this weekend.
Wingspam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 04:30 PM
  #71
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Try a 13x6 MA Scimitar S2 prop on your 55. Nice price, too.

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 07:29 PM
  #72
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Wingspam

I now have 15 flights on my Yak and I have to say this is one nice flying plane. I am using a 13x4w apc prop and it seems to work well on my 55ax, its a little slow to spool up so I haven't had the best luck getting it to hover, but it will knife edge forever. I just purchased a 13x4 zinger and I hope to get to try it this weekend.
Ive really been liking the Xoar props. I would think the Zinger will spool up quicker than the APC being that it should be much lighter. Ive read that the Xoars might be better suited for 3D over the zinger. More pull.
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 08:36 AM
  #73
AFSalmon
 
AFSalmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OH,
Posts: 4,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

The xoar 13-4 seems to work the best for me.
AFSalmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 04:35 AM
  #74
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

Are the Xoar's wood props? I haven't seen them in a local hobby shop yet.

Thanks,

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:51 AM
  #75
AFSalmon
 
AFSalmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OH,
Posts: 4,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 47

OMP does carry the xoar props but they aren't on the webpage yet. We can put them in the box with the ARFs and save shipping or you can order them individually.
AFSalmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:31 AM.