Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers
Reload this Page >

Help Me Size a Motor, Battery and BEC

Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Help Me Size a Motor, Battery and BEC

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2011, 05:05 PM
heavydriver
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help Me Size a Motor, Battery and BEC

I'm an electric noob. I'm a long time slimer and gasser 3d guy that was given this electric bird. It has what i think is a gear driven 400 can motor on it that was powered by a heavy nicad pack.-Anyway this power setup doesn't cut it. It barely can get out of it's own way. Wingspan is 32 1/2" by 11" chord. Stab is 13" x 5" and weighs about 3/4 lb without battery. Can any of you spark chasser wizoes give me a recommendation of a motor, prop, controller and lipos that I can install to make this bird come alive and be real aerobatic? (Cheap Hobby King is good since I'm just trying out the electric deal)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Eb86801.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	1540925   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ze86952.jpg
Size:	134.1 KB
ID:	1540926   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nh12532.jpg
Size:	135.8 KB
ID:	1540927  
Old 01-01-2011, 05:25 PM
heavydriver

Default RE: Help Me Size a Motor, Battery and BEC

Sorry about the photo size. I thought that they were small. -Maybe RCU is wonked out?
Old 01-01-2011, 06:10 PM
lejongleur
My Feedback: (10)

Given the weight of your plane, I recommend the following for a bargain priced setup:

- this Towerpro outrunner http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=2046
- this lipo 3S nanotech battery: http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...dproduct=11903
- and a small 30A ESC like this one: http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=6460