Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

parkzone servo install

Hi all I'm new to RC and I have a simple question about servo installation.

I got a parkzone p-47 BNF and I've been flying it pretty well (I think). I wanted to install flaps and then later retracts. I got the long lead servos from my LHS. In the manual it says to use doublesided tape or hot glue. Is tape strong enough? I'd think that it'd let go with time/forces to hold those flaps down. What about CA? is there a reason not to use CA?

Also the servos come with the um "lever parts" attached. Do i just find the travel (about 180*) of the servos then center the "lever/arm piece" on the servo(90*)?

-Brian

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: parkzone servo install

ORIGINAL: dalgrim
    Is tape strong enough? I'd think that it'd let go with time/forces to hold those flaps down. What about CA? is there a reason not to use CA?
    I have used double-sided foam tape, known as "servo tape." It works pretty well if the mounting surface is flat and you are careful to clean the mounting surface to remove any grease or dirt. Molded foam or plastic planes may have some residual mold release on their surfaces, so it is important to clean it before attaching the servos.

If you use CA on a foam plane, be sure it is foam-safe CA. Regular CA may attack and melt the foam. To make it easier to remove the servo in the future, wrap the servo with a layer of tape so that you are gluing to the tape rather than directly to the plastic case of the servo.