Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Tiger Moth

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2003, 11:56 AM
rogwabbit

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tiger Moth

I just got it last night and read about all the mods to it previously.. I ended up putting it all together in about 4 hours using 5 minute epoxy. I have a problem though. I am new to electrics, not R/C...

The reciever is a the gws pico that comes in the flight pack. I can't seem to make it work????

I tested my esc, servos, and motor on my old reciever, and they all seem to function. However, my brand new reciever isn't working.

I have a Hitec Eclipse 7 and I can use EITHER Jr or Futaba recievers because it's a setting for a phase shift.

The gws reciever is Futaba, and my other known good reciever is Futaba as well so no phase shift should be required.

I plug it all in, and when I move the sticks the only thing that seems to be happening is the one servo makes a funny sputtering noise. It doesn't move. It will make no noise, then I move the stick and it makes a sputtering noise. I even tried switching the phase on the tx to see if it may have been a factory mis marked jr reciever, but it does the same thing, just a little diffrent noise.

It's on the same channel per the crystal I bought with it..

Any ideas? Is this a common problem?
Is it a bad crystal or reciever?
Am I plugging something in wrong? I plugged it all in the same on my other reciever, and it worked fine.

Do I have to cut the antenna like it says to 1/2 length?
I wanted to fly today, but my old reciever is just too big to fit in there with the battery.

Anyone else ever heard of such a thing?
Should I bring it back to LHS?
Old 09-05-2003, 12:05 PM
Earthdrill

Default Tiger Moth

Are you using a Futaba crystal with a Futaba RX? They won't interchange with Hitec crystals. I learned that by experience, and the symptoms are the same. Cheers.

Bud
Old 09-05-2003, 12:37 PM