Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Electric power advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2003, 02:46 AM
eballz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric power advice

I am converting a formally rubber powered model to a 3 channel electric r/c micro flyer. The airframe will need to be modified for strength and for electronics, a neat little project. Cant wait to see how it turns out. The model is micro sized with a 24 inch wingspan. High wing, good dihedral, and flat bottom aerofoil - like a miniature trainer.

I am new to electric r/c so my main questions for you electric gurus are: what is an ideal powerplant for this model? Three channels means it will have ESC, rudder, and elevator. I was thinking 180 sized but am unsure on battery size or type. NiMH or Lithium? Current rating? Geared or direct drive?

thanks in advance
Old 12-08-2003, 04:57 AM
west black

Default RE: Electric power advice

im too good at this but what i know is that micro flyers normally use 1 cell li-po, but you are using a 180 seized motor which im not sure about. if its a slow flyer try geting a motor from sky hook n riggin. either ways i would recommend a pack of li-po even though you need more than 1 cell.
Old 12-08-2003, 08:14 AM
eballz

Now I am thinking a 180 is too much for such a light machine, this is a former guillows rubber power kit. I was considering this motor/battery combo. Let me know what you think.

Motor/ESC: http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXDJN2&P=0
Battery: E-tec 250-2S @ www.lightflightrc.com (250maH/7.4V LiPo)

Do you think I should go with a 340maH/7.4V LiPo instead?
Old 12-08-2003, 09:07 AM
west black

I think you should try posting this in the electric indoor and micro flight forum. because i m not sure about coreless motors. sorry.
Old 12-08-2003, 11:44 AM
Jason Beach
My Feedback: (4)

What kind of plane is it? Is it a warbird, trainer type, or floater?