Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Help with buying a Wingo

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2004, 02:05 PM
Mark71

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with buying a Wingo

Ok I am looking into buying a Wingo. I have flown before but has been about 3 years since I have. I am new to the electric park flyers.
First question: What the major differnce b/t the Wingo FK5450 and the Wingo HLFK5500. Other than one has 2 motors and one has one motor. What I am looking for is the flight time, flight characteristics.
Second question: I don't want to be stuck with a bone stock Park flyer. What would be better than what Hobby Lobby offers for the standard requirements(Batteries, charger, Motor, & speed control) Like I said I am new to the electric part. I am looking to have some good flight times and some good power out of it. Maybe in the future going brushless.
Thrid question: I am looking at the JR Quattro Lite for the radio. What are some pro's and con's to the set up. It comes with two JR S241 micro servos and R610M FM micro receiver.

Thanks for the help
Mark
Old 04-10-2004, 05:46 PM
WattsUp-INACTIVE

Default RE: Help with buying a Wingo

Mark,

I have the standard Wingo, so I can't comment on the 2 motor version.

I bought the "Wingodeal" from Hobby-Lobby last summer, and that was my first RC plane.
The deal came with the direct drive 400 motor, and an 8 cell 600ma nicd battery. Also a Hitec 555 receiver,Hitec HS-81 servos, Jeti 110 ESC and Hitec CG-340 charger. That setup gave me around 5 to 7 minutes of flight per charge. I then ordered some 8X1100 NiMh batteries. They give me 10-12 minutes. Much better, but the extra weight drove me to upgrade to the geared 8X6 prop from HL. The gearbox helps. A Brushless motor would help a lot more. My current all-up weight is around 26 oz with the heavier battery.