Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Dihedral or Flatter Wing

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2004, 05:03 PM
highflyinguy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dihedral or Flatter Wing

HI, I have a Slow stick that I built to kit specifications. Here in Colorado the wind gusts erratically from 5mph to 15mph in a split second.
I was wondering if I were to get a new wing and use about 1/2 the amount of dihedrial, would that help from getting blown around the flying area when the wind is higher and I try to turn back into the wind. If the wind stays low, the plane flyies great.
Any of you guys have slightly high wind flying ideas? Thanks, Jerry Bohn
Old 05-29-2004, 12:28 AM
stoneware

Default RE: Dihedral or Flatter Wing

Yes, dump the slow stick and try something like a multiplex pico cub and get a gearbox for it. I started on a slow stick and am self taught. I found that the stick was pretty much useless in anything but NO wind conditions. It makes a great indoor flyer but just doesn't have the response you need to handle any kind of wind. On the other hand the cub I mentioned is much more forgiving and will with the addition of the optional gearbox outperform the slow stick in just about every area including trying to teach yourself how to fly.

Here's why.

It has a huge 46!QUOT! wingspan with an airfoil designed to lift small artillery so it would probably fly with the IPS unit from your stick and will make better use of your servos.

The stock engine with the puny 5!QUOT! prop will give you about the same performance as the stick. Put on the gearbox and a 10!QUOT! slowfly prop and watch it speck out in the sky above. With this set up and the addition of wing struts (supplied in the kit) it's possible to do multiple loops, just watch you don't break the tail. You'll know when you've done that cause it'll start to fly !QUOT!funny!QUOT! but it will fly.