Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

GWS P-51 tip stall on landing

Old 08-11-2004, 01:56 PM
gravityrules

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GWS P-51 tip stall on landing

I graduated from an aerobird challenger to the GWS P-51 (big mistake). After smashing the holy heck out of it, I got an E-Starter and actually learned how to fly a bit. With the miracle of Minwax Polycrilic and fiberglass cloth, I've resurrected the P-51 from what I thought was an early death (it's now called Lazarus). Anyway the thing's been flying great and am having lots of fun, but when I bring it in to land, about two feet off the ground it tip stalls, veers to one side and cartwheels in the grass. I have no landing gear and am trying to get a nice soft belly landing. What's the trick to bringing one of these home? Do you have to skid it in at high speed? I'm getting a little tired of re-gluing the wing mount gear.

Thanks in advance.
Old 08-11-2004, 02:43 PM
BuzzBomber
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: GWS P-51 tip stall on landing

Keep some power on in the final approach, slowly feed in a little up elevator to bleed airspeed and control altitude, and cut the throttle just before final flare. Basically, you don't want it to stall until the moment of touchdown.
Old 08-11-2004, 03:05 PM
gravityrules

Thank, Matt. I think you're right that I'm cutting power and flaring too soon. I also might be giving too much up elevator on the final, causing the stall. If weather permits I'll try your advice this evening (epoxy should be nice and solid by then).
Old 08-11-2004, 03:47 PM
BuzzBomber

With my spitfire, I find that as I flare, I seem to enter ground effect at the same time, so a little up elev. makes it want to climb and stall. With a little experimentation, though, you'll find the right balance.
Old 08-11-2004, 03:53 PM
gravityrules