Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

ParkZone P-51 Mustang RTF

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2007, 07:40 PM
AETCBoom4

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ParkZone P-51 Mustang RTF

ORIGINAL: rfries_gha

I have a Parkzone Mustang that I want to upgrade to brushless. I was told that an AON Thrust [model T2815-3002, 2.3mm shaft] is a bolt-on replacement for the stock motor. How has this upgrade been for anyone else?

This is my first build and would appreciate assistance in selecting the compatible ESC and prop. I also need a Traxxas/Robinson brass pinion compatible with the stock shaft.

I will upgrade the entire electronics for this bird. I currently have the Spektrum AR6000 receiver and S75 servos for the DX6 transmitter. I will also be running a 3 cell 1800mAh Li-Po.

Has anyone made modifications for dual servos for the ailerons?

Your assistance is greatly appreciated.
I used this combo in my spitfire. I would use the 2815-3000 motor as it would accept an industry standard 3.2 mm pinion. Finding a 2.3 mm pinion with a set screw would be hard, believe me I know.

My combo consisted of the motor 2815-3000, a robinson racing 32P/12T 3.2 mm pinion from Horizon Hobbies, and an ESC rated at 35 amp or higher to be safe. I was using the stock prop and got good torque and decent speed. You could use a prop nut adapter from the E-flite 400 gear box and be able to try different prop combos. Otherwise you are stuck with the stock 10x8. Use Deans connectors to the ESC. The 1800 mah batt maybe to weak. I would recommend a 2100mah with a 20c rating to give you excellent power.
If you are going brushless I would HIGHLY recommend shoring up the wing with a cf rod as I nearly folded mine. I remember seeing peak amps at 30 and 300+ watts from the watt meter.

I have gone BL on both my Mustang and Spitfire, so feel free to ask questions.
Old 08-04-2007, 08:03 PM
gunracer

ORIGINAL: rfries_gha