Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers
Reload this Page >

Analysis of Hobbyzone/Parkzone electronics

Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2006, 04:39 PM
khalsans
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Analysis of Hobbyzone/Parkzone electronics

I thought that perhaps someone on this forum might be interested in this. I recently tore down a Firebird Commander receiver, then a Aerobird Challenger and Xtreme. Then I looked at the Parkzone J-3 Cub and P-51D. (I'm an electrical engineer in my spare time when I'm not flying

All receivers have similar front ends: an RF amp stage consisting of a FET and a couple of tuned RF transformers. The 'Q' of this circuit is not so tight that if the crystal frequency is changed, the receiver is not noticeably less sensitive. I've swap crystals and had the unit work fine.

From the RF amp stage, the signal is passed to a low-power narrow-band FM IF system chip. The label is scraped off, but it is probably an LM3361 or MC3371. They are all quite similar. A local oscillator set to 455KHz below the channel frequency feed the mixer that converts the 27 MHZ signal to the 455KHz IF signal. The signal can be seen by probing pins 1 & 2 of the chip with a scope.

From there, the IF signal passes through a ceramic filter, the little black box near the IC. The demodulated signal appears at pin #9 of the IC, then is amplified by an op amp in the chip at pins 10 & 11. The signal is now a digital one, and it is passed to IC2, the microprocessor.