Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Am I ready for a warbird???

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2006, 12:07 AM
Zandona

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Am I ready for a warbird???

Oh man here we go...
I've been flying sailplanes for almost three years now. I've flow 2M, HLG, flying wings and started flying helicopters about 6 months ago. my first airplanes was a sports flyer tatler (about 42in wingspan RE dihedral).
So in one way I feel like I have enough airtime to try out a low wing warbird like the GWS Spitfire but in another way I have not flown a low wing full house parkflyer yet!
I'm looking for any input from those of you experienced in warbirds. If you look back at when you flew your warbird for the first time, how difficult was that?
Do you recommend dual rates or exponentials in order to make the plane less responsive and maybe more forgiving at first?
Thank you.
Andre
Old 05-11-2006, 01:32 AM
yoster

Default RE: Am I ready for a warbird???

In my opinion, you'll have no problems at all. I take a different approach to teaching how to fly however. For you, it'l be just like any other new plane.. at first you'll be a little squirrly on the controls getting your grounds.. and after about 15 seconds you'll straighten out, and fly the rest of the time with no problem. I also recommend MORE maneuverability than less (this is where my preference differs). I've noticed that when I am teaching people how to fly.. they figure it out a lot faster when I let them fly my 3d plane (after I get it up there) then on a "trainer" plane. Provided you have ample power at the prop, the extra control surgace/throw can save you. Personally, I don't think you're going to have a bit of a problem. These planes, expecially if you are starting with a brushed motor, require minimal experience to enjoy.. even the ones that ParkZone claims as "Advanced" (Typhoon 3d, F-27B stryker.. both of which i have).