Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers
Reload this Page >

Are there any park flyers that are less affected by wind?

Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Are there any park flyers that are less affected by wind?

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2006, 08:30 AM
gtramontelli

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are there any park flyers that are less affected by wind?

Hello everyone;

I have a parkzone j-3 cub that I have been flying for about 3 months. I have gotten pretty good at flying it (don't get me wrong...the plane is on its second fuselage and 5th or 6th prop!). I added a venom motor upgrade and larger wheels for better landings. Basically, I really enjoy the size of the parkflyer as well as the elecric power, but I notice that the plane is very sensitive to wind. Is this a quality that all parkflyers share? It is difficult to find a sunny day in this area with less than 10 mph winds. The average is about 12 mph. I have found that I am able to control the plane well, but it gets a little tiring to battle the wind. I would rather spend my time enjoying the flight rather than worrying if the next gust will blow the plane away.

Are there any warbird type parkflyers that are more stable in wind than the cub, or is this normal for this size/type of airplane?

Thanks!

Gino
Old 05-16-2006, 08:43 AM
mdbuehler

Default RE: Are there any park flyers that are less affected by wind?

Been having that same problem, same plane I have a Venom'ed Cub with oversize wheels and a steerable tail wheel. The Venom helped with the power issue fighting the wind, but it gets batted around so badly its very stressful to fly. I noticed when I put the video camera on it, the wind doesn't effect it as bad. I think its a lack of weight that makes it so susceptible? The sunny Seattle days tend to be windy too, which is bumming me out