Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

GWS Motor Break-in?

Old 01-30-2003, 09:09 PM
Shoruk3n

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GWS Motor Break-in?

Is it necessary to break in my GWS motor? I haven't run it yet, and I'll probably wait until someone tells me if I should or not. Don't want to go shootin myself in the foot!
Old 01-31-2003, 09:44 AM
darenm
My Feedback: (2)

Always a good idea. What Motor/Plane are you using? Do the instructions say to brake it in? Many of the instructions don't say to, but if you do you may be able to squeeze a little more life out of it.
Old 01-31-2003, 10:56 PM
bowanarrow

I am new to electrics. Just finished up a GWS Zero and am waiting for the snow to disappear and the high 50's to reappear.
I have their 300 motor in the bird.

How do you break in an electric motor? I didn't know that it was a good thing to do.
Old 02-01-2003, 12:05 AM
flyinrog
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you can power it up under (distilled) water and run it until after changing the water several times until it no longer is leaving any dark or gray residue in the water, However on a GWS motor it is just a cheap can motor and is only gonna be good for so many flights anyway,,maybe 30, maaaaybe 50 if your lucky, it will start to lose power gradually, like the batts arent fully charged then near the end it just wont be able to climb.. and by this time you need to order another motor.......I just went ahead and ordered an entire kit,cause the plane was pretty well shot too....Rog
Old 02-01-2003, 03:23 AM
bowanarrow

Hey Rog

Thanks for the quick reply.... I guess I really am coming out of the woods .... You dunk the whole thing in water and run it????

I imagined that water would short out the whole motor.
... they will run under water??

I am sure I must be misunderstanding. The part I do understand is that it is not worth trying to break-in the GWS300.

Brad
Old 02-01-2003, 01:11 PM