Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

Reply
Old 03-29-2007, 02:46 PM
  #1
darticus
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: sparta, NJ
Posts: 1,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

I have been flying some Air Hog bi planes, jets and a CX2 heli around here. Is there a plane small backyard flyer that is a bit more challenging than an Air Hog and just as durable? Would like to step up without the need for alot of space and maybe some 3D. Thanks Ron
darticus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 05:02 PM
  #2
scoooper
 
scoooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: crawfordville, FL
Posts: 279
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

darticus::how bout one of these, if you look'in for a bit of fun, Radio shack, bout 50$? your bub,scoooper
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80775.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	122.0 KB
ID:	652511   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xs58252.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	115.6 KB
ID:	652512   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ot48429.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	652513  
scoooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 06:44 PM
  #3
Ofnsve
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, ON, CANADA
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

scoooper...what the heck is that thing?
Ofnsve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 08:00 PM
  #4
scoooper
 
scoooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: crawfordville, FL
Posts: 279
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

Ofnsve::It's a FlyTech Dagonfly (www.flytechonline.com) Been fly'in for 40 years on and this is DIFFERANT, Like fly'in a heli & plane at the same time, Two sets of wings an charges like a aero ace,( from trans, has a lipo an flys about 8-10 min's, I do scream'in dives , nose& flat spins with it, like I said , it's a hoot, your bub scoooper
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz79355.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	119.2 KB
ID:	653194  
scoooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 08:09 PM
  #5
packyj
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

The aero ace has really spoiled a lot of people coming into the hobby. You won't find a plane that can fly in the same area with the same durability and most definitely with the capability of 3d. You can get a 3d plane that can fly in a gymnasium or similar but nowhere near the same area an aero ace requires unless you're naturally talented at 3d I suppose. You can search for epp (the foam that aa's are made from) planes and see if anything comes to your liking. You will need to get stand alone radio gear to get most of them though. Most reasonably I would say you can find one for around 200 bucks all said and done but will need an area the size of a baseball field or similar to fly it in.
packyj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 09:18 PM
  #6
darticus
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: sparta, NJ
Posts: 1,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

Can an Aero Ace do 3D? What can they do and how do you learn to do 3D? Ron
darticus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 09:36 PM
  #7
3D-Flyer Kevin
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

No an aeroace cannot do 3D. All an aero ace can do basicly is fly around, up, down, and turn left and right. Hmmmm....... I think that the best way for me to learn 3D is to practice on a simulator. Being 15 I can't spend the money on a $200 dollar sim and a $300 dollar airplane. So I bought Clearview Rc. It is $30 dollars with free lifetime upgrades. The downside is that the physics can't compete with the more expensive simulators, but it is enough for me to learn the moves want to learn. Just make sure your reactions are very keen because you can't mess up when you are doing slow rolls 3 feet off of the ground[8D].

Hope this helps,
Kevin
3D-Flyer Kevin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 09:41 PM
  #8
3D-Flyer Kevin
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

No an aeroace cannot do 3D. All an aero ace can do basicly is fly around, up, down, and turn left and right. Hmmmm....... I think that the best way for me to learn 3D is to practice on a simulator. Being 15 I can't spend the money on a $200 dollar sim and a $300 dollar airplane. So I bought Clearview Rc. It is $30 dollars with free lifetime upgrades. The downside is that the physics can't compete with the more expensive simulators, but it is enough for me to learn the moves want to learn. Just make sure your reactions are very keen because you can't mess up when you are doing slow rolls 3 feet off of the ground[8D].

Hope this helps,
Kevin
3D-Flyer Kevin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 11:57 PM
  #9
scoooper
 
scoooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: crawfordville, FL
Posts: 279
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

darticus:how bigs your back yard?some are bigger than others ( here's my side yard & back yard) might help me figger out a good plane for you , 3D-Flyer Kevin's right about the sim, and after you get it down go get ya a 150$-200$ foamie an a flight pack, the only thing close to 3D I do is hover my storm launcher in the live'inroom though, I might want one too! your bub, scoooper
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw66385.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	127.4 KB
ID:	653337   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni23817.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	123.3 KB
ID:	653338   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ty65230.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	64.3 KB
ID:	653339   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay73698.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	74.3 KB
ID:	653340  
scoooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 07:59 AM
  #10
CitaFly
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Riverside, CT
Posts: 152
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

Try this:

[link=http://www.ampaviators.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=46&Itemid=27]Lightflite RC Bug Review[/link]

You can fly this insane or slow, very tough and good for indoors and outdoors - this is becoming my favorite.
CitaFly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 09:46 AM
  #11
packyj
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

I still believe that if you own your own radio already the hobby lobby yak 55 is the best deal for learning 3d. It's sturdy enough to be fixable... on sale for 17 bucks... and all the gear you need to finish it can be had at unitedhobbies for dirt cheap.
packyj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 10:54 AM
  #12
darticus
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: sparta, NJ
Posts: 1,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

I have an area that I fly my heli's and aero ace's in, maybe 1/2 acre.Having fun with my aero ace and just wondered if there was anything small and 3D that could fly in tight quarters. Maybe I'll have to go out to a big field. The yak 55 looks good but maybe its too big for close quarters. I couldn't find them at unitedhobbies but others have them.I only have my e-flite heli radios so I would have to buy a radio unless I can use one for the plane from my CX2 OR CP PRO. The Lightflite RC Bug looks also cool but I don't know about tight quarters.You guys I'm sure will get me going. Maybe I should buy a radio first if I can't use the others.
darticus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 05:27 PM
  #13
packyj
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

Well, if you're like my brother you'll love the thought of tiny 3d... just for kicks take a look at these 3d capable planes.

http://airmidimicros.com/

with a video of it here
http://airmidimicros.com/Videos/extra.wmv

It's pricey and far from a good plane to learn 3d on but it's fun to watch
packyj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 07:08 PM
  #14
darticus
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: sparta, NJ
Posts: 1,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

Thanks for the info.The EXTRA is the ticket but $579.00 are they nuts! That would have been the ticket! Ron
darticus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 07:36 PM
  #15
packyj
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

It's pricey but when you look at the fact that not many companies are producing the required gear for planes that small it kind of makes sense. Not to mention that those producing these products are small companies at best.
packyj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 07:41 PM
  #16
darticus
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: sparta, NJ
Posts: 1,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

Your right but $579.00, I Gotta Forgetaboutit!
darticus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:03 PM
  #17
danielmarin
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: bogota, NS, COLOMBIA
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BACKYARD FLYER UPGRADE HELP

I have a flytech dragonfly but it cant move the wings i dont know why can you help me?
danielmarin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:22 PM.