Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers
Reload this Page >

Busting into electrics - need lots of expert help!

Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Busting into electrics - need lots of expert help!

Old 02-17-2003, 11:10 PM
MMatheny

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Busting into electrics - need lots of expert help!

OK, my wife said I could get the GWS P-51! Now, I am new to electrics (have flown some semi-hot glow, so not new to the hobby). So I have a bunch of questions. Here goes:

1. I want to get the best performance and flight times for this plane (no brushless motors yet!). What battery pack would you recommend? (I want aerobatics)

2. Receiver - can I use a sub miniture RX that I buy for this plane in a .40 - .60 size glow also? (looking to the future) Will the micros drive standard servos?

3. What ESC? I understand if I get one with a programmable BEC I could use Li-Poly batteries and have it cut off before the battery voltage drops too low for them. And here's another question about Li-Poly - MAN had a nice write-up about them. Anyone use them yet? Seems if you treat them nice, they give you lots of power and long flight times with very low weight. What kind of current draw does the GWS 300 motor that comes with this model have? Will the Li-Polys give it the power it needs?

4. I want to put the retracts on. Are the ones from GWS somebody elses, or are they built special for these park flyers? Are there lightweight foam (not styrofoam!) wheels that will fit in the wheel wells?

5. What charger? I want something I can charge with in the field - figure maybe take couple of battery packs, one flying while the other charging. I also want something that can cycle and discharge my TX and RX batteries (Futaba 6XA) and check the capacity. What's the best bang for the buck that I don't have to be an battery expert to work?