Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

PICO-STICK-FD vs F280

Old 02-21-2003, 08:03 AM
Quinn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PICO-STICK-FD vs F280

I am new to the R/C Plane world and just got comfortable with a Firebird 2.
Tonight I purchased a PICO-STICK-FD along with GWS Flight Pack and a JLine Quattro
Can a person replace the FD motor with a F280 motor? I went over GWS`s website and it would seem that one could use the F280 motor mount along with the 280 motor with no problems.
In my search through this forum I found that most people have been upgrading battery packs. What is the best way to go about this?

Any suggestions or tips would be much appreciated.

Old 02-21-2003, 04:59 PM
Peter Khor
My Feedback: (4)

imo you've choosen a very good setup to start out with; it's a great package price considering everything that it comes with. I have tried the F280 conversion kit for my Pico FD and the performance is well below that of the stock setup, ROG is difficult.

There are only a couple of mods/pointers I would recomend:

* get a couple of 9x7 prop instead of the supplied 10x4.7, they work much better outdoors and in breezy conditions.

* reinforce the leading and trailing edge of the wings (like the Stick (non FD) versions); cut a couple of 6" or so bamboo skwers and use packing tape to secure to the edges.

* the stock 6 cell 2/3 AA pack works well; remember that it works best fresh off the charger - eg, if you charged it this morning and don't fly till late afternoon or tomorrow, put it back onto the charger for about 3 to 5min to "top it off". Using any other packs required modifying the battery compartment.

* You should have better luck with the EPS100C (280 motor) compared to the 280 Direct Drive system. Another option which I am currently using which works very well is the Dual IPS drive, more than adequate power.

For now, give the stock motor a go, it's a blast!
Old 02-21-2003, 11:49 PM