Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Sky Scooter Landing Gear?

Old 02-22-2003, 12:59 AM
BUDSLYD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sky Scooter Landing Gear?

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to flying airplanes. I have a firebird II that I've flown about 30 times ( and crashed of course) Much fun. I recently got a sky scooter pro II which I have yet to fly. My problem is that I fly over asphalt which I must eventually land on. I cant see the sky scooter taking many of these landings (sandings) I would like to build some landing gear for the plane, does any one know the best way to go about this?
Old 02-22-2003, 02:39 AM
taildraggerdave
My Feedback: (1)

I had a SS Pro II also and I wanted to put landing gear on it for the same reasons. I thought of a few different ways to do it but never really got around to it. I did put a few layers of 1" wide packing tape over the skid that is already there and then ran a few strips down the length of the fuselage. It worked pretty well. I don't have the plane anymore...wing folded a few hundred feet up and the rest is history. Get your battery packs from Radio Shack. They have an 8 cell Nickel Metal pack that has the same connector that you need (Tamiya) and it's 1600mah.
It even fits in the factory slot. I used to get 15 minute run times with them. Make sure you cut cooling slots for the motor and then use a spoon to make a scoop to direct the cool air through
the motor. Check your CG at 4.5 inches from the LE at the fuse.
They don't tell you that in the manual. If yours is off (mine was) you can remove a bit of material at either end of the battery opening and move the battery back and forth a bit.
Hope this helps.
Old 02-22-2003, 04:29 PM
darenm
My Feedback: (2)

Hope this helps. Sorry only shots i could find!

Old 02-22-2003, 07:44 PM
BUDSLYD