Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Alternate ESC options

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2007, 10:36 PM
qballdmd

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alternate ESC options

I am very new to electric flight and am a little confused. The few planes that I have, I purchased through tower hobbies and got the recommended ESC to go with the battery and motor combo I was using. I just purchased the ultimate bipe and have been waiting for two months for the silver series ss-25 esc to come in off back order, only because that was the recommended ESC and to avoid picking incorrectly. It's ridiculous that they release two or three new planes that will require that ESC and have it on back order for months. I would just like to know what some good alternates are. I have the 11.1V, 1500mah balancing, 20C battery and the rimfire 35-30-950 brushless outrunner. I have no allegiances or preferences because I know nothing. Any suggestions. Is the Castle 25 ok, or are there other more affordable options. Also, I have the triton 2 charger. Will I require the equinox balancer to correctly charge that pack? Thanks for educating an electric idiot.
Old 06-29-2007, 11:03 PM
skinnerfam95

Default RE: Alternate ESC options

I got the following SPECs for your RIM FIRE from the Tower site
Input Voltage: 7.4-14.8V
Max. Constant Current: 20A
Max Surge Current: 28A
Max Constant Watts: 296W
No Load Current: 0.8A
Suggested Prop Sizes: 10x5E - 12x6E

The prop will significantly affect your choice. If you stay within the suggested prop range, nearly any 20amp ESC will work fine. I personally haven't found an ESC that was not surge rated for above its advertised voltage.

Different ESCs support different batteries (based on safe cutoff voltage.) Just be sure to get an ESC with a 3S lipo cutoff- based on your battery.