Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers
Reload this Page >

Anyone fill a PZ P-51 with foam yet ???

Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Anyone fill a PZ P-51 with foam yet ???

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2007, 09:32 AM
DragracerArt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone fill a PZ P-51 with foam yet ???

I'm thinking about partially filling my P51 with some of that spraycan foam insulation... Reason being is this...

I'm still a newbie, so the maiden voyage on my plane was made by a buddy of mine last weekend. He was complaining about the lazy nature of the plane and lack of climbing ability. We fiddled around with the wire adjustment at the tail fin, moving it up a hole or two for more response, but the reward was minimal...

Fastforward to last night...

After partially disassembling the plane for routine inspection/maintenance... I took a look at the servo/wire system that controls the rear fin... I noticed there is NO support at all between the servo and turnbuckle. The wire just passes thru empty space in the fuse... When applying very small resistance to the fin, the control wire flexes ALOT. I could see this same problem in a high speed attempt to climb.

What I was thinking of doing was covering the control wire with a piece of plastic tubing (like used in RC car antennas) then partially filling the back half of the plane with spray-foam out of a can... The foam would expand, surrounding and supporting the tube which houses the control wire... This should eliminate any control wire deflection, and probably make the plane WAY more responsive...

Any thoughts ???
Old 07-19-2007, 11:18 AM
AJ1202

Default RE: Anyone fill a PZ P-51 with foam yet ???