Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers
Reload this Page >

Went to buy a Super cub... Came out with a Flyzone Cessna 182.. Maiden flight report.

Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Went to buy a Super cub... Came out with a Flyzone Cessna 182.. Maiden flight report.

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2007, 06:47 PM
friedclutch

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Went to buy a Super cub... Came out with a Flyzone Cessna 182.. Maiden flight report.

Went to the LHS yesterday to finally pick up a Super Cub. Been looking for a relaxing park flyer. As usual they had 5 in stock. Next to them was the Flyzone Cessna 182. Over walks one of the employees and we get to talking. He says the Cessna is WAY better... Ailerons and such. AND standard radio equipment. (After he finds out I'm an avid pilot) So anyways I got the flyzone plane instead.

Well.. At least it LOOKS better than the super cub so far. Not to mention the horrific problems I've had with the hobbyzone/parkzone electronics. Both my Stryker C AND the Aerobird Swift had defective electronics TWICE. Yes.... TWICE.

So I get the kit home and start assembly. Really easy build. Not much to build. Immediately I notice the battery is the same voltage and dang near the same miliamp rating.. Just a different shape, as the swift battery packs. Time to mod the battery bay. Long story short.. I deepend and rebuilt the bttery bay with balsa and epoxy. (I'm also an avid plane builder.) Yup... Modding a plane that's never been flown. Got the center of gravity spot on with either battery. Sweet. Also didnt like the stock throws on the controll surfaces. Put them in "one" hole on the controll horn for more throw.