Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Slow Stick- Complete setup

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2003, 10:51 PM
climo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slow Stick- Complete setup

Hi,
I'm relatively new to airplanes after giving helis a try. Heli's are great but nerve wrecking. I'm looking at the Slow Stick and have heard great comments for a starter airplane. I would like to get a 'all in one' type of craft that I will not out grow. I understand the slow stick doesn't have aerilons (sp?) will that limit me later on? No barrell rolls? Can they be added? Or is there a good starter plane that has all 3 controls?

If I was to purchase the slow stick what all is required? I've seen some of the recomendations but I would like the best parts available. No glitching, full range, etc. Can I still use my Futaba 8 channel transmitter from my heli? Or do I need to buy everything again.

Where is a good place to purchase some of these items from? I looked around but cannot seem to locate one shop that has everything I need.
sorry for all the n00b questions.
Old 03-12-2003, 12:06 AM
BillK

You can use your transmitter you just need a Futaba compatible receiver. You can get everything cheap from www.allerc.com. Slow Stick is $35. This flight pack would be good:

GWS ICS400 2F GWS ICS400 SPEED CONTROL

TWO GWS NARO+ STD SERVOS

GWS PICO R4P HP 4 CHANNEL RECEIVER FUTABA/HITEC (NEGATIVE SHIFT)

GWS XTAL CHANNEL ??

BATTERY PACK OF YOUR CHOICE FROM PACKS IN STOCK 800 MAH AND BELOW (ANY NUMBER OF CELLS AND ANY CONFIGURATION)
$94.95

Get the 800 9.6 NIMH battery and you'll have a good pack to start out with.
Old 03-12-2003, 02:58 AM
climo

Thanks for your input. Ok, so it looks like I might be able to use some of my heli stuff after all. I hear that the SS can use regular size servos and if this is the case then I should be able to reuse the ones I have.