Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

GWS E Starter ??

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2003, 03:14 PM
JeffTRS

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GWS E Starter ??

I am still looking to purchase a simple park flyer. The guy at the hobbie shop says this plane will handle more wind than the slow stick. I am a total newbie.

I understand its not as slow as the SS but its stall speed is 7-8 which is ok with me. I plan to fly in my front yard mostly.

http://www.leisuretimehobbies.net/Planes/gws1045.htm
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	76842_32730.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	45785  
Old 05-08-2003, 10:23 PM
Peter Khor
My Feedback: (4)

Default GWS E Starter ??

E-Starter will definately fly in much higher winds; 15mph isn't much of a problem. That said:

* If it's your first plane and you're teaching yourself, I'd say go with the SS first.

* it won't exactly fly in most front yards; at least a full soccer field just to a little comfortable (and you will still have to be stearing the plane all the time). The bigger the open space, the better.

* Unlike the SS, it won't turn on a dime, hence the need for a larger space.

*Go with either 7 or 8 cell AAA NiMh pack for the E-Stater; GWS and many others offer the pack.

Again, unless you have something like a 3 soccer field size lot or bigger to fly the plane, start out with the SS first ... you can always transfer all te gear to the E-Stater later on.
Old 05-08-2003, 11:20 PM
Dr Kiwi

Default Slow Stick/E-starter

Good advice from Peter, as usual.

You should read the latest (July 2003) 'Backyard Flyer - on p.58 there is a comprehensive, and very complimentary, flight report on the E-starter by Norm Bogenschild.

Also, in the "Reviews" section of RC Universe there is an even more comprehensive, and equally complimentary, building and flying report on the Slow Stick.