Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Reply
Old 01-11-2010, 08:19 PM
  #1251
zsultan
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Hi Guys,

Quick question, did Parkzone fix the motor mount screw that was puncturing the battery issue in Corsair in production now? or do we still need to take care of that?

Please let me know, my corsair is coming next week.

Thanks
zsultan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:42 PM
  #1252
squawk7700
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

All I can tell you is that I bought mine in May of 2009 and the problem was corrected. I was aware about the problem when I bought it and checked it anyway, just to be sure it was corrected. Hope that helped.
squawk7700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 07:54 PM
  #1253
bute56
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: coweta, OK
Posts: 60
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

I know this has been addressed in this thread, but I dont have the time to go through this whole thing again. I want to add a couple of batteries to my hobbyking order. What is a good replacement battery for the corsair? My airplane is stock. Thanks.
bute56 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 08:46 PM
  #1254
LarryV
 
LarryV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sun City, AZ
Posts: 157
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

I use Lightmax 2200 Mah
LarryV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:53 PM
  #1255
flhtc3
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: chesapeake, VA
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Rhino 2250 25C, I use them in the PZ Corsair, T-28, BF-109 and the Mustang.
flhtc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 12:12 AM
  #1256
rowdyjoe
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 720
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Bute56,
I recently bought a couple of 20C 3s 2200mah LIPOs from Hobby Partz for a very good price. I use them in my PZ Corsair and everything else I have that runs 3s batts and they perform as well as the HK Flightmax so far.

RJ
rowdyjoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:27 PM
  #1257
wxup
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Novi, MI
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

I am thinking of buying a Spektrum DX6i system. Is anyone familiar with the AR6100e receiver? I am looking for something inexpensive and lightweight, but don't want to buy something that won't work well. Does anyone have any suggestions which receiver I should consider?
wxup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:39 PM
  #1258
rolieharris
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clyde, OH
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

I have the DX6i and am very pleased with it. The only issue is the display. In bright sunlight, it is very difficult to read even with the contrast in the brightest mode.
Rolie
rolieharris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 04:09 PM
  #1259
mad web tv scientist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 1,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

wxup, yes, the AR6100E seems to work well for me using one of my three (3) DX5e transmitters. The instructions with the AR6100E specifically state that it is not compatible with the DX6. I plan to eventually purchase a DX7 to use with my favorite fighters.

At the moment I am satisfied with the performance of my operational and standby DX5e transmitters. I did suffer from a glitch while flying a Messerschmitt this week and haven't gotten a response on it yet about what might have happened. I also use the AR6100 that seems to perform well also even though while flying with a poorly running brushed motor I seemed to have a few glitches attributed to said motor.

Hope this helps. We continue to loose otherwise promising fighter pilots to enemy action. Please hang in there regardless of possible setbacks and/or discouraging actions by otherwise friendly forces.

We are on the winning side!


madwebtvscientist [sm=lol.gif]
[sm=cry_smile.gif]
____________________________________________
Modeling Promoting Bog:
http://www.rcuniverse.com/community/...g&memid=266748

Modeling's rendezvous with destiny will surely be unstoppable when something greater than the narcissistic pleasure of an esoteric chosen few is adopted in modeling.
mad web tv scientist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 06:21 PM
  #1260
wxup
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Novi, MI
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

madwebtvscientist,
Now I'm really confused. Spektrum offers a package that includes the DX6i and the AR6100e. Could you scan that and send it to me? I would like to check that out with Spektrum.
wxup@yahoo.com
wxup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:48 PM
  #1261
mad web tv scientist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 1,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

[X(] wxup, the first url should give you what you need.

SPMAR6100E_Binding_Instructions.pdf
http://www.horizonhobby.com/ProdInfo...structions.pdf

AR6100E Binding Instructions Note : The AR6100E receiver is designed for parkflyer aircraft only ... The AR6100E is only compatible with Spektrum aircraft transmitters that support DSM2 ...
http://www.horizonhobby.com/ProdInfo...structions.pdf

TALLY HO!

madwebtvscientist [sm=lol.gif]
[sm=cry_smile.gif]
____________________________________________
Modeling Promoting Bog:
http://www.rcuniverse.com/community/...g&memid=266748

Modeling's rendezvous with destiny will surely be unstoppable when something greater than the narcissistic pleasure of an esoteric chosen few is adopted in modeling.
mad web tv scientist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:08 PM
  #1262
jewfish
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 340
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

wxup: the AR6100e is compatible with the DX6i but not the older DX6 with is not DSM2. I myself use a DX6i with a AR6200 dual-receiver in my Corsair (its my best model so it has my best receiver) but I have other park flyers that use AR6100, AR500 and AR6110. I've had no glitches with any of them and would happily use them in the Corsair.
jewfish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:18 PM
  #1263
squawk7700
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

I have a DX7 and still use an old AR6000 (DSM only, not DSM2) in my Corsair and have no problems whatsoever.
squawk7700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:30 PM
  #1264
mad web tv scientist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 1,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Jewfish, great heads up!

wxup, please accept my apology for confusing the question. Now that we know how great I am with details you might want to check your situational awareness a little more carefully than would normally be necessary if you see me approaching with an airplane in my hand.

"OFF WE GO INTO THE WILD BLUE YONDER"- (famous last words".

madwebtvscientist [sm=lol.gif]
[sm=cry_smile.gif]
____________________________________________
Modeling Promoting Bog:
http://www.rcuniverse.com/community/...g&memid=266748

Modeling's rendezvous with destiny will surely be unstoppable when something greater than the narcissistic pleasure of an esoteric chosen few is adopted in modeling.
mad web tv scientist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 05:40 PM
  #1265
redriderjt
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: henderson, NV
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

hey i just purchased a turnigy 30-35 motor for this plane has anyone one tried this yet? If so what kind of preformance sould i expect or mods i might have to do to make this work.. Just looking for more vertical preformance...
redriderjt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 07:58 PM
  #1266
Dangaras
 
Dangaras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 271
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Do you mean 35-30, I searched and could not find a 30-35? There are 3 models A, B & C, Idont think the 35-30 series will give you adeqate power. I runs 15amps optimum which is 180W. The stock motor you are replacing is a 400 series using a 30A ESC.

Iuse the 35-36C &it is definitely heavier but gives great performance. You will have to update the battery to a 3 cell 2150-2200 mAh, 25C. The stock 1800mAh will not last if you fly past 2/3 throttle. Ialso upgraded the ESCto a 40A to make sure there were no fires during flight.


Dangaras is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:10 PM
  #1267
jewfish
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 340
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dangaras
..
I use the 35-36C & it is definitely heavier but gives great performance.
...

Yeah, if you can get one that actually works.

Sorry Dangaras - couldn't resist. I'm still debating whether to try for a third attempt after being sent two duds, or perhaps find something in the 900kv region.
jewfish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:18 PM
  #1268
Dangaras
 
Dangaras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 271
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

A Turnigy that did not work? Wow. I have heard some of the horror stories, but Ihave purchased quite a lot of equipment from HKand none of it except some 20 minute epoxy that takes 2 hours to cure, has ever been defective. I am really pleased.

What can I say, bad things do happen to good people. Even though, Icould still buy 5 or 6 of these and still pay less than an equivalent e-flite at my LHS and Iwould be ahead.

What was wrong with the the two duds you received?
Dangaras is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:55 PM
  #1269
jewfish
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 340
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Details are a few pages back in this thread but to summarise:

Number 1: Draws double current
Number 2: Clicking/knocking sound once per revolution

On the 35-36c product page there is one other report of 'clicking' so I'm not alone.

Overall my experience with HK has been good too. Out of 19 motors and 17 ESCs ordered everything has been great except these two bad motors and two cheapie ESCs.
jewfish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 10:00 PM
  #1270
Dangaras
 
Dangaras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 271
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Right, Iremember reading about the knocking one.. Ihave a 35-?? That draws an awful lot of power if Itake it past 3/4 throttle. Ifixed that by using a 60A ESCand keeping below 3/4 throttle, my big HK Decathlon is happy when Ifly it sedately.

That's about $50 plus Shipping. Iwould be upset. FOr $50, Iwould return them both and get HKto replace them.... They are pretty good that way.
Dangaras is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 02:43 AM
  #1271
redriderjt
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: henderson, NV
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

im sorry thats it 35-30c. says it equal to axi 2808.I do have an 2200mah 20c and a couple of 40amp esc one out of my squal..ive heard of a power 10 and a power 15 ran in these planes.. Was told that the power 15 was plenty of power for this plane.. so i thought this was an equivalent motor??? I admit it i dont have a clue...Ive flown this plane stock on that 2200mah 20c battery about 25 times or so.. just wanting to upgrade so if anybody has any input on what the ideal setup is??
redriderjt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 07:50 PM
  #1272
mad web tv scientist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salem , OR
Posts: 1,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

redriderit, mind if I call you red rider? That was the name of a cowboy hero I had when I was a kid.

The next url brings up my absolute favorite Corsair prop. The ship with its stock motor and battery has no problem hauling straight up to altitude and performing any maneuver I would ever need to fly. The path in vertical flight tends to wonder off a lot but the greater than one to one thrust ratio is obvious.

One thing I keep forgetting to mention is that washers are needed at the prop hub when using the SF props, and they almost always require a little sanding on the back of the prop hub to get both prop tips to track in the same plane.

CALL TO GLORY!
http://community-2.webtv.net/RICHARD...ORY/page3.html

Hope this helps.

madwebtvscientist [sm=lol.gif]
[sm=cry_smile.gif]
____________________________________________
Modeling Promoting Bog:
http://www.rcuniverse.com/community/...g&memid=266748

Modeling's rendezvous with destiny will surely be unstoppable when something greater than the narcissistic pleasure of an esoteric chosen few is adopted in modeling.
mad web tv scientist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:12 AM
  #1273
Hawkcrewchief
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ft rucker , AL
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

Hey guys, last weekend my parkzone corsair was involved in a midair collision and crashed, here is a link. The crash is at the end.
Mostly everything can be fixed with epoxy but the angled area where the motor mount is screwed to broke. Any ideas how to fix that without buying a new body? Thanks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5dbhsqJchFM
Hawkcrewchief is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:55 AM
  #1274
squawk7700
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

WOW! That was some cool video. FAA will want to review that one. What kind of cameras were you using on the planes? It's hard to tell from the video how extensive the damage was to the motor mount, but they do make replacement mounts without having to buy the whole fuselage. Part #PKZ4428. Saw one on Ebay for $3.29 plus $2.41shipping. Type in 'Parkzone Corsair' in the search box. Haven't needed to buy one so far so I don't know if that is a good price or not. Good luck with the repairs and keep em flying.
squawk7700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 12:30 PM
  #1275
Hawkcrewchief
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ft rucker , AL
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone f4U Corsair Rtf

here is the camera we are runnning, it works great for our set up. The part that broke is the raised plastic that the mount screws on to. Im thinking balsa wood, not sure though.

http://www.xheli.com/fipevicas18g.html
Hawkcrewchief is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:28 AM.