Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Slow Stick Wing Design

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2008, 12:58 AM
jeffie8696

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Slow Stick Wing Design

OK here is one for the engineers out here. The Stick has an airfoil with an open bottom. Would there be more lift if it had a flat bottom? I would think this could be done with some mylar and kept fairly stiff. [8D]

The way I fly I would still have to then fill it with helium to avoid a crash.[:@]
Old 09-21-2008, 01:46 AM
jdetray

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Slow Stick Wing Design

I'm no engineer, but ...

The term for this sort of "open bottom" airfoil is "undercambered." If you put a flat bottom on it, the wing will have less lift and also less drag than the undercambered version. So the plane will want to fly faster and in fact will need to fly faster because it will have less lift.

Undercambered wings are great for slow flyers precisely because they develop lots of lift at slow speeds.

I'm sure someone has flown a Slow Stick with a flat bottom wing and can tell us how it performs.

- Jeff
Old 09-21-2008, 10:42 AM
calvino

ive done it with a flat wing, it works good, i didn't notice much loss of lift BUT it helps a TON in the winds due to the fact that it has to fly faster, normally when i would have to bring it in, i could stay up, helps alot, ads like maybe 5 mph or so to the top speed, noththing to bad
Old 09-21-2008, 10:54 AM
jeffie8696

I was hoping the flat bottom would give the air more to push against and keep it aloft better. I do fight a lot of wind issues here, it is seldom ever calm. I think I just remember seeing a breif test of a wing design that was similar to the Stick and I believe they came to the conclusion it had poor stall . But I may be wrong.
Old 09-21-2008, 11:17 AM
blk822