Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers
Reload this Page >

I'm a newbie looking for help on long term options

Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

I'm a newbie looking for help on long term options

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2003, 10:04 AM
jwaterb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm a newbie looking for help on long term options

Right now, I'm in a situation where I can spend a little money (price range about $150), so I would like to get my feet wet with RC airplanes.

I have flown only a few times but have managed to land all of them safely, so I'm comfortable with a little better than a newbie plane, but I don't have one of my own yet.

Here's the deal:
I'm looking for an RC airplane that will be nice to me if I nose dive it (maybe something with the prop in the rear??) and won't cost very much at all, I'm not really looking for beauty here.

I need a transmitter, but I want to find a cheap one and still be able to use it on upgrades. This is the part I'm most inclined to spend a bit more money on. (i.e. 4 channel, and two nobs??) I'm a little confused which brands work with which recievers (not to mention why they all come with servos, they don't have anything to do with the radio do they?).

Something bundled together might be best for me, i.e. I have looked at the T Hawk, but it seems the transmitter is proprietary, and I want something I can use after an upgrade.

Any input on this would be much appreciated, and any sites that I can refer to for pricing would be very nice.
If anyone feels inclined to give me a price list of all the items I have to buy, that would also be very helpful.

-----
Old 07-07-2003, 12:39 PM
Mike Taylor
My Feedback: (1)

Welcome to R/C, J.