Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers
Reload this Page >

I flew the WattAge Sopwith Camel

Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

I flew the WattAge Sopwith Camel

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2003, 07:52 PM
rmaviator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I flew the WattAge Sopwith Camel

I've have just finished building the WattAge Sopwith Camel. The picture of it in the ads doesn't really do it justice. It looks even better in person. It flies beautifully and is equally impressive in the air or on the ground. It gets lots of looks from everyone at the flying site, hobbyist and non-hobbyist alike. It doesn't look like a "toy" airplane. It is very impressive and very cute at the same time.

I'm fairly new to this hobby, only been at it for about 6 months. I have a Slow Stick, a Crazy Max and a GWS P-51. I really took my time building this model as it took me about a week to finish. I'm just slow and savor the building experience. I'd say someone who was in a hurry could finish in 2 to 3 days. The biggest problem I encountered building it was in joining the two foam fuselage halves together. I made two mistakes in doing this. First, I should have used a longer curing epoxy. I used 5-minute epoxy. Second, I tried to use rubber bands to hold the two halves together while they cured. By the time you apply the epoxy to both of the huge fuselage halves you have very little time left to align them. The rubber bands only made things worse by distorting the alignment. By the time the halves had set up, the sides had not joined correctly and I had to sand the sides to even them out. Of course this destroyed the factory paint job. This actually turned out not to be such a disaster. I found just the right paint to match and ended up painting both the fuselage and the tail surfaces because their edges were sanded, exposing the white foam. The brand of paint I u