Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Profile and Fun Flying Planes
Reload this Page >

4 Star 40 and a 4 stroke?

Community
Search
Notices
Profile and Fun Flying Planes If you're a profile fan or into fun flyers than this is the forum to discuss those topics.

4 Star 40 and a 4 stroke?

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2002, 11:06 PM
Sewerdude
My Feedback: (20)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 4 Star 40 and a 4 stroke?

I'm about ready to start on my secong 4 Star 40. I had a OS 46 SF on the last one and it flew nice and had decent speed. Thinking of going the 4 stroke route. So I'm very new to 4 stroke and have only seen 1 fly at my field last summer.So I dont know much about them. Anway, would the 4 Star 40 like a 4 stroke? What advantages or disadvantages will I get if I go with a 4 stroke? Will it still have good speed or will it be some what slower since the 4 strokes turn less rpm. If I do go with a 4 st ,what would be the best size for the 4 star 40 and which one? Will I have to get a on board glow system? The one I saw fly last summer did. Thats why I'm asking. Thanks for answering all my questions in advance. I come on here before I try something new. Free advice is priceless. Thanks, JT
Old 12-17-2002, 11:29 PM
UltimateFlyer120
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 Stroke thrills.....

I have several 4 Strokes. Right now I have an OS 52 Surpass on my 4 Star 40. Very nice power range. The biggest issue is prop clearance. The OS 52 I have an APC 11X7. The Saito 72 would be a great choice if you want extra power. With the Saito 72 you would need a 12X8 or 13X6 prop not much of a problem with ground clearance but something to think about. None of my 4 Strokes have an on board glow system. Some where I read about getting better fuel mileage with a 4 Stroke, I have not noticed it.