Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > PST Jets
Reload this Page >

PST J600R shutting down? What could cause this?

Notices
PST Jets Direct support for PST Jets Turbines.

PST J600R shutting down? What could cause this?

Old 06-10-2016, 09:34 AM
  #1  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default PST J600R shutting down? What could cause this?

If I read correctly after auto shut down. There is a star next to the REV and indicating 24000. How could I adjust this??

Here is a pic of the GDT after shut down.

COuld it be I need to adjust the failsafe in the GDT?? and on TX?? DO I just bring the ATV Past 100% bind and bring back to 100% after rebinding?? and go through the failsafe setup on GDT??
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7435.JPG
Views:	200
Size:	2.21 MB
ID:	2167148   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 1.30.41 PM.png
Views:	166
Size:	245.5 KB
ID:	2167149   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 1.30.22 PM.png
Views:	163
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	2167150  
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 09:35 AM
  #2  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zat1BEYiaLM
Here is a video of whats happening.
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 11:53 AM
  #3  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

In the Manual it says this message is either cases by low battery or sticky fuel pump. I recharged the battery after the starts and I only put in 500 mah on a 2500 size nicad battery. Will try running the pump for 10 mins like the manual says to see if it's the pump
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 02:29 PM
  #4  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Anyone? Are there any PST dealers or tech support here in the states? Does anyone have a good email for PST in Thailand. The ones on their website keep coming back to me.
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 02:30 PM
  #5  
Art ARRO
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Holland Patent, NY
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Jonny,
See my advice on the Reaction 54 thread. Back out the EGT probe a little ( 1/16th") and separate the start tube from the tail cone about a 1/2 to 3/4 "gap . Both items are causing the high temps and shutdown.
Rgds,
Art ARRO
Art ARRO is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 03:15 PM
  #6  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Moved the egt probe out a little here's a before and after. Gonna try again

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	156
Size:	1.44 MB
ID:	2167168   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	158
Size:	1.56 MB
ID:	2167169  
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 04:16 PM
  #7  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK so here is the second attempt with the egt probe pulled out a bit. For some reason it never starts the first time. Lines were primed. And also took a little longer to start this time. But always starts second attempt. Video is still uploading. In this video you can see I ran full power a few times and taxied around a bit. Towards the end I attempted to go full throttle again and it quit..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOCpRX0_Zvo
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 04:23 PM
  #8  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here is the start sequence with the EGT pulled back a little and start tube further back. I noticed EGT was a little higher not lower with EGT pulled back some. And took longer to start. Also as you can see. Could not start via TX again. went through learning RC and nothing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmIbgz_DgUk
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7452.PNG
Views:	153
Size:	1.47 MB
ID:	2167220  
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 04:33 PM
  #9  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Could it be a bad or weak pump?

Last edited by Johnny9390; 06-10-2016 at 04:33 PM. Reason: Misspelling
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 04:52 PM
  #10  
Art ARRO
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Holland Patent, NY
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Johnny,
The 2nd start issue is common with the EGT probe extended out of the tail cone. Some guys live with it but I'd move it back to its original position. What were the EGT readings at idle and full power with the extended EGT position? They should under 800C, preferably lower. You definitely do not want to have the turbine shutdown at full power, especially after takeoff. The failure to start 2nd time may be a function of turbine cool down. Most turbines won't restart unless the EGT is below 100C. You can use a blower to get the temps down quickly without engaging the starter motor. Also some turbines like to have the ECU power turned off before a restart. I know this is frustrating but you need to get it right before any flight attempts. Hopefully some PST "experts" will chime in here.
You also must have very forgiving neighbors in your street. Keep trying and let us know how it all goes.
Rgds,
Art ARRO
Art ARRO is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 04:54 PM
  #11  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Oredered a new pump from dreamworks. Let's see if that solves the problem. Someone recommended this
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.png
Views:	150
Size:	199.8 KB
ID:	2167222  
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 04:57 PM
  #12  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The neighbors loved it. Before pulling egt probe out a little idle temp was around 400. Max power was around 730-740.

after I pulled it back idle was around 470 and max was same as above
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 05:01 PM
  #13  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm starting to lean towards weak pump. Hense why I ordered one. Gonna change the rev low and mid values to see if that helps with current pump. But first gonna fill tank and use the prime function to run the pump until the tank is emptied into a overflow tank and see if that helps the pump at all
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 05:03 PM
  #14  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Btw does anyone have contact info for PST? Tried going through their website and the contact info is not working. Wanted to see how much it cost to upgrade the ecu to their newer fadec system
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 05:10 PM
  #15  
DP01
My Feedback: (1)
 
DP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 231
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Johnny:

Just a thought, have you tried using the "Auto set full speed" function? - bottom of page 21 in manual. Another thought, I presume your tank vent is open when running.

Dennis
DP01 is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 05:11 PM
  #16  
Art ARRO
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Holland Patent, NY
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Johnny,
Some fuel pumps are a bit weak when new and need to be broken in a bit. Running a tankful into your overflow may help break it in. Does you TEMS display show a pump prime voltage when running. Sometimes this value will drop as the pump wears in. Document you current values before changing them to go back if need be.
Good luck.
Rgds,
Art ARRO .
Art ARRO is offline  
Old 06-10-2016, 05:30 PM
  #17  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I did the auto calibration. Went just fine. This fuel pump is an original A model. Don't know how long it sat. But gonna do the prime function and run a tank dry to an external startup tank and see if that helps
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 02:43 AM
  #18  
Art ARRO
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Holland Patent, NY
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Johnny,
Unfortunate that PST Thailand does not respond. You might try to contact some of their US Reps. I believe they are listed on the website-if it is still up. Hopefully someone will respond. Another tack would be to attend the AMPS Rally and see if someone has specific experience with the PST 600R. I was in a similar situation with my RAM engines as they went out-of-business about a month after my purchase. I had to contact many users and finally found Carlos V. to be very helpful. Good luck.
Rgds,
Art ARRO
Art ARRO is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 03:14 AM
  #19  
Art ARRO
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Holland Patent, NY
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Johnny,
Go to PSTJETS.com and both Dean Wichman and Kelly Williams are listed for N. America Reps along with their contact info. Either should be able to resolve your problems. I downloaded the PST600R Manual and there is nothing unusual about this turbine. Note that PST recommends that the EGT probe must be inserted no greater than 2mm, into the tail cone. This is about 3/32" and you can check it with a piece of 3/32" balsa as a simple gauge. Also the manual lists the default parameters and these should be verified on your display unit.
Rgds,
Art ARRO
Art ARRO is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 07:11 AM
  #20  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Art I sent both those guys emails but the emails came back. I don't think they are reps any longer or the emails don't work. Bruce Tharpe is even a rep and also sent him an email. I will go through the paramaters again but this turbine has only 3 hours on it. It was last sent to Thailand in 2008 and they changed the parameters and I have a paper with the numbers they changed it to. It hasn't been run since till now. I will go through the ecu and write down what it's set at now. Compare to what they did if they jive and start playing with the ramp low and mid numbers to see if it helps. But another ex Rep Kelly seams to think there might be some clogged fuel ejectors. I was also told to blow some compressed air in the fuel inlet of the turbine to see it that opens up or loosens any particles that may be logged in the ejectors
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 07:15 AM
  #21  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This is what Kelly Williams ex rep said

So while idling, the turbine isn't really running too hard, so it should sustain ok. Now then, when its asked to accelerate, then the combustion needs to intensify to blow harder on the exhaust turbine and accelerate the shaft, which is a lot to ask for a turbine that's barely running. This is why all turbines ramp up slow from low rpm but crazy fast at any other speed...


If the combustion quality is low or unbalanced around the ring, a sudden influx of fuel can make it go rich, so now combustion takes longer. If that fuel is still burning as it goes past the turbine wheel, you have less pressure differential across the wheel, making less torque, making the shaft slow down when you asked it to go faster.........


If it continues to go slower, and fuel keeps ramping up, it'll just get slower and hotter...


Keĺly

Last edited by Johnny9390; 06-29-2016 at 06:46 PM.
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 10:06 AM
  #22  
Art ARRO
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Holland Patent, NY
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Johnny,
Looks like you're on the right track with the turbine. I have a "little blue book" that I compile all the operating parameters and conditions of my 4 turbines-sort of like a logbook. For the clogged fuel injectors- definitely a possibility, you can try looking into the tail cone using a large mirror and observing the flame pattern. The pattern should be equal around the edges and is sometimes better visible in near darkness. Blowing compressed air into the fuel port is also a possible fix but I'd due this as a last resort. Any air or liquid has to be really clean or you could introduce more clogging. It's too bad that PST doesn't have a viable rep network in the states. Actually, only 1 of my turbine brands has a US Rep- Jet Central- and I limp along with other operators that I trust.
Rgds,
Art ARRO
Art ARRO is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 12:32 PM
  #23  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have a jet central Cheetah on my bandit and I love it and if I can't get this figured out will buy a bee for the this bird
Johnny9390 is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 12:48 PM
  #24  
redtail
My Feedback: (15)
 
redtail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 2,562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Johnny9390,
Certainly hope you get all your turbine problems solved. Know you are anxious for wheels up. Stay with it. Putting a Bee in my bird also. Chic
redtail is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 02:43 PM
  #25  
Johnny9390
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah man it's killing me! Was supposed to have flown this thing by now! And been pouring rain here in Miami so couldn't trouble shoot at all today
Johnny9390 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.