Q-40 Racing Discuss AMA 422 and any other variants of Quarter 40 racing

Futaba Setup

Reply

Old 12-31-2012, 08:10 PM
  #1  
Mikey D
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba Setup

I'm in the process of converting to Futaba. What are most using for QM40 Rx and Servos? I prefer a 2s straight LIPO setup or LIFE

Thanks
Mike DeNeve
Mikey D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:21 PM
  #2  
Kevin Matney
My Feedback: (1)
 
Kevin Matney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, MI
Posts: 518
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

I use this for the RX battery. I raced all week end with 1 pack.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ever_Pack.html
Kevin Matney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:42 PM
  #3  
Mikey D
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

Sorry I need to clarify, what RX and Servos are recomended for 2sLIPO or LIFE in a QM40 setup.
Mikey D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:53 PM
  #4  
sahartman21
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fritch, TX
Posts: 2,060
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

Typical Futaba QM40 setup:

1) RX - R617FS
2) Elevator Servo - S9650
3) Rudder and Engine Kill - S3102
4) Aileron Servo - S3002 (or replacement) or S9650

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11349006

I've been using the 700 mAH Life pack with good results. No regulator is needed.
sahartman21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:00 PM
  #5  
JAllen
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

Mike,

I second Scott's set-up. The replacement for the 3002 is the 3016. Like the 3002, the 3016 is very durable but a bit slower and the metal gears eventually will develop more slop than the plastic gears of the 9650 and it's a bit heavier and analog. The I've also used the digital 3150's for rudder and shutoff, as well as for the "V" servos on a Sweet V or quickie. As with all 2 screw servos, it's a good idea to use servo tape and a balsa spacer between two servos to tighten up the mounting side to side but, they work great.

For all of these servos you'll need to use a LiFe if you don't want to use a regulator. For a LiPo, you'll want to use a regulator. The RX is fine on the higher voltage but these servos aren't happy with the higher LiPo voltage. Don't have mini HV servos yet but I prefer LiFe's anyway. The regulator is just one more piece that can develop a problem and several have had problems with them. I actually still have NiMH's in several of my birds at this point.

Jim Allen
JAllen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:50 AM
  #6  
Mikey D
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

Thank you Scott and Jim. That's what I was looking for. No regulators for me ill stick with LIFE or NIMHS for now.
Mikey D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:00 PM
  #7  
kommander
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newman, CA
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

Since Futaba and JR don't recommend operating servos above 6.0 volts, and a life battery will charge up to 7.2 volts, isn't there a risk of premature sevo failure?
kommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:45 AM
  #8  
sahartman21
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fritch, TX
Posts: 2,060
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

I'm not aware of premature failures of servos when using the 2 cell Life batteries.
sahartman21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 09:28 AM
  #9  
luv to race
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Liquored, FL,
Posts: 678
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

Bruce,

What LiFe packs are using that you see 7.2V's ?? The Orion packs I have been using are right at 6.7 - 6.9 volts peak.. Either way, I wouldn't worry about performance issues at 7.2V's..

Randy
luv to race is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:12 PM
  #10  
kommander
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newman, CA
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

I was in error, I'm using the orion pack too and the voltage is 6.9v after charge. Dare I take all my regulators out!
kommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:31 PM
  #11  
garys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

Bruce, I've been running the LiFe's without regulators...no issues.
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:21 AM
  #12  
BenG60
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TRACY, CA
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

im guilty for passing this on to bruce, a few months ago i tried a life and no regulater, i lost a couple servos, so i contacted futaba, and horrizon, the both advised me not to, it was to high a voltage for a substained time, this came from ther tech dept
BenG60 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:31 AM
  #13  
kommander
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newman, CA
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

OK, I'm taking the regulator out of Joanne's airplane!!
kommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 01:37 PM
  #14  
luv to race
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Liquored, FL,
Posts: 678
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

It certainly wouldn't hurt to run a regulator with a LiFe pack. I personally don't. I have used a LiFe pack while using 3121's, 3421's, and 341's, and I haven't seen an issue yet. All my new planes for the past year I only run the 3711 high voltage servos, and no failure.

So if it makes you nervous to apply more than 6V's to what ever servos you use.. add the regulator and be safe.

Randy
luv to race is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:17 AM
  #15  
garys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Setup

I agree with Randy. I've been running the LiFe's with Futaba 9650, 3150, and 3102 servos. The manufacturers are pretty much always going to error on the safe side recommending not exceeding the voltage ratings of the servos, so I'm not surprised to see the answers from Futaba and Horizon. As I said, I've had no issues, and as Randy said, if it makes you feel better, use a regulator.
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service