Q-40 Racing Discuss AMA 422 and any other variants of Quarter 40 racing

Spektrum Receiver/Batteries

Reply

Old 12-04-2014, 06:03 PM
  #1  
redtail
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
redtail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 2,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Spektrum Receiver/Batteries

Hey guys, trying to get back into racing. What Spektrum receiver are you guys using for either Q40 or Q500? Also, what batteries are you using, I like the A123's? Thanks, can't wait to get back into racing. Chic
redtail is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 06:38 PM
  #2  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,763
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I like the AR8000, been solid for me. I'm also using 2 cell LiFe batteries - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...arehouse_.html

The 700 mah are lighter than the smallest real A123's, and I've had great performance from these inexpensive batteries. I know quite a few guys using them.

The AR7610 w/ satellite is also a nice RX, I have a couple of those.

My EF1 planes have AR6210's in them, with satellite RX.

I've flown AR6255 with good results, and the newer AR6260 is pretty slick - it's a main RX and sat RX all in one package. Overall, though, the AR8000 is my most used. In the Q40's I'm using a 9" satellite wire, with the sat RX installed just behind the wing opening, antenna running vertically. The main RX goes ahead of the servos, with the antenna running fore/aft so it's 90 degrees from the vertical satellite.

Last edited by fizzwater2; 12-05-2014 at 06:47 AM.
fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 09:11 PM
  #3  
DHULEN
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lee\'\'s Summit, MO
Posts: 206
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Is anyone using the 6210s I would think they should work
DHULEN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 06:46 AM
  #4  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,763
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Duane- that's what I meant to say my EF-1's have in them, not 6010's. I blame it on getting old..
I'll go back and edit my post to fix that!

I had one 424 plane that I was trying an AR400 in - and again, I had no problems with it, until I loaned the plane to someone else. He won races with the plane and then a rather large fence post jumped up in front of him while landing...

Last edited by fizzwater2; 12-05-2014 at 06:49 AM.
fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 11:17 AM
  #5  
redtail
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
redtail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 2,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Must be old age. Forgot to ask what Spektrum servos you guys are using in the Q500 and Q40 class. I'll probably need lessons again now that I want to return to racing again. Thanks guys. Chic White
redtail is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 02:59 PM
  #6  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,763
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've used the H5000 (sadly, discontinued) with good success.

The newer A5060 appears to be the same basic mechanics, high voltage capable, metal gears, probably a good servo. I heard somewhere that they have been used with good results.

JR 3421's are good servos, have a handful of those in planes.

Older JR 3021 and 3121's still work well, even if they aren't digital servos.
fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service