Q-40 Racing Discuss AMA 422 and any other variants of Quarter 40 racing

Getting my feet wet

Reply

Old 10-23-2016, 06:35 AM
  #1  
scattermaster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: houston, TX
Posts: 140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Getting my feet wet

Hey guys,
Several of my racing buddies have been putting pressure on me to move up to 426 and Q40. (I've been racing Club 40 and EF1 and doing well. I haven't raced yet but I'm comfortable flying 424 planes.
My 1st 426 plane is ready to maiden. I'm confident that I'll be OK there after a fair amount of practice.
Anyway,
One of my enabler/buddies gave me this Q40 plane to use as a trainer and I have some questions.
1. Does anyone know what it is? He gave me the airframe but it's missing the landing gear.
2. Is there a landing gear ready made that would work or would I just have to make one?
3. For now, I plan on running an old Nelson quicky motor. How should I prop it?
Edit:
Does anyone know where I can get parts to make the motor more like the modern Q40 motors? (spinner back plate and ventury)

Any info/suggestions would be appreciated.
Thx,
Jim
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7769.JPG
Views:	165
Size:	2.09 MB
ID:	2187106   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7770.JPG
Views:	155
Size:	2.28 MB
ID:	2187107   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7778.JPG
Views:	151
Size:	1.65 MB
ID:	2187108   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7786.JPG
Views:	158
Size:	1.58 MB
ID:	2187109  

Last edited by scattermaster; 10-23-2016 at 07:32 AM.
scattermaster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 07:46 AM
  #2  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,763
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

spinner & backplate should be available from Mike at Aero Racing Engines ( http://aeroracingengines.com/ )

Venturi, also - but why not just wire open the one you have on there, use a fuel shutoff like you'd use with a venturi? If you set it up that way, when you're ready for a full blown Q40 engine, you'd already have the shutoff in place.

Or- use a servo to control it just like you'd do on a Q500 plane?
fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 07:47 AM
  #3  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,763
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Oh, and the plane may be an AJ-2 from Kevin Matney www.matneymodels.com
fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 04:43 PM
  #4  
Kevin Matney
My Feedback: (1)
 
Kevin Matney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, MI
Posts: 518
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Please give me a call to help you out, phone ### on web site
www.matneymodels.com
Kevin Matney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2016, 12:53 PM
  #5  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If you're running a Q500 engine, make your own landing gear. The q500 size props will have ground clearance issues otherwise.
What engine do you have? Short or long stroke?
Spinners and such can be had from aeroracingengines.com, Dub Jett or from Darrol Cady.
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2016, 04:23 AM
  #6  
GSJames
 
GSJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 579
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

ENABLER??? I "resemble" that remark!!! It was great to see you this weekend Jim. See you at the next race!
GSJames is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service