Q-40 Racing Discuss AMA 422 and any other variants of Quarter 40 racing

Nelson set up

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2018, 12:05 PM
apereira

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Nelson set up

Hi guys,

I am new to Q40 and need some kind of advice in setting up the Nelson for it, I just broke the engine in partially, 1.5Lts of fuel at 10.000, 17.000 and 4min at 22.000 with the . 7x4 x 7.5C, but I do not have any instructions at all, so kind of guessing a bit at the moment; so also got a set of shims with the engine I am not planing to use until I know what to do and after running the engine in the air.

Pretty much, I need an idea on what to look for the first flights and how to set it for race, do I close it until it runs clean but not peak and back down 1/4 turn? something like that?

Thank you and Merry Christmas
Old 12-26-2018, 05:23 PM
sahartman21

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Dear Apereira,

Try to find someone in your area that currently flies a Q40 model. Running a Q40 engine is different then running a traditional model engine.

Here are some of the basics for setting up and running a Q40 engine:
1) Start with a firmly mounted engine in an airframe. Most have a 3/8 inch or thicker firewall.
2) Use a tank that is located high in the fuselage. Use a Tettra or Jett 6 ounce tank located in the top of the fuselage.
3) I prefer to use a motor mount with the built in needle valve assembly.
4) Set up an engine kill that pinches the fuel tubing.

Fill the tank with a Jett tanker or equivalent. Use 15% nitro fuel that contains a blend of synthetic and castor oil.

Running the engine:

1) It looks like you have run the engine enough to put the engine in the air.
2) Use a relatively light 7.4 x 7.5 prop.
3) Back the needle off about 1/2 a turn from the previous run.
4) Start the engine and adjust it until it is running rich near 22,000 rpms. You can fly the engine at this setting and it should be rich and relatively slow in the air.