Q-40 Racing Discuss AMA 422 and any other variants of Quarter 40 racing

radio upgrade

Reply

Old 08-27-2010, 06:31 PM
  #1  
kommander
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newman, CA
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio upgrade

I have finally gone to 2.4, I purchased a Futaba 8FG, it comes with a R6008HS receiver. is it OK to use this in a
Q40. What is the receiver of choice for my other airplanes? Thank Bruce
kommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 06:41 PM
  #2  
D.E.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

Hello Kommander,

Yes great radio and receiver!

I use it and love it also Jim Allen, Rusty Van Baren and Gary Schmidt.

Dave E.
D.E. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 08:43 PM
  #3  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

When I finally drink the 2.4 kool-aid that is the choice I'll most likely make.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 09:54 PM
  #4  
garys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

As Dave said, I've been using an 8FG this year, with both the 6008HS and 617 receievers. I think you'll be very happy with it.
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 01:08 AM
  #5  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

I've been using the 617's great receiver and for such a tiny, light receiver, they survive crashes like nothing I have ever seen.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 12:51 PM
  #6  
kommander
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newman, CA
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

OK thanks guys, now another question. I'm not using LiPo batteries and usually run 2 digital and 2 standard servos. Now I'm using a 4 cell 1000mah pack , should I go to 5cell?
kommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 04:25 PM
  #7  
sahartman21
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fritch, TX
Posts: 2,060
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

A lot of the Futaba fliers (including me) use 5 cells on Q40 racing.

This makes for faster servos at a little more power.

That said, the receiver and airborne radio works fine with 4 cells if you choose.
sahartman21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 08:42 PM
  #8  
garys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

Until this year I typically used 4-cell 720mah NiMh packs (and periodically would use packs as small as 350mah) and never had any issues. I've since switched to Lipos because I like the way they don't self-discharge when not in use like NiMh's.
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:04 AM
  #9  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

I'm one of the few still using 4 cell NIMHS, I have just never had a problem with them. I used 720 mahs' for years, but have been getting the 1000 mahs just because they are the same size. The trick with NIMHS is breaking them in correctly when new, at least 5 full slow charge cycles, and then keeping an eye on them with frequent cycles till you start to see them dropping off, then dump em. You also have to be carefull because they can sometimes false peak some of the auto chargers (like Cirrius). Either or, they both work.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 09:33 PM
  #10  
garys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio upgrade

Like Dave said, NiMh's can false peak. I never fast charged over 1C, and typcally was closer to .5C. Another thing to help detect a false peak is to use a charger with a display that lets you know how much charge went into the pack, rather than one that just has blinking lights, ect. If you typically put in say 500mah when you charge, but it for whatever reason kicks off at 150mah after the same amount of flying time, you know it false peaked.
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service