RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Q-40 Racing (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/q-40-racing-155/)
-   -   F3D? Why don't we have it in the U.S.? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/q-40-racing-155/10878360-f3d-why-dont-we-have-u-s.html)

dbarnes6 12-27-2011 01:11 PM

F3D? Why don't we have it in the U.S.?

I'm just wondering why we don't have any F3D in the states. The planes are wicked cool looking as are th Q40, and i was also wondering if the F3D planes are legal for Q40. I myself don't race them because i'm pretty new to planes, but down the road i would like to give it a try.

Just curious

Danny

fizzwater2 12-27-2011 01:26 PM

RE: F3D? Why don't we have it in the U.S.?

Not only are they wicked cool, they're pretty wicked expensive from what I hear. :)

There are some guys that fly F3D here - enough that the US is able to put together a team to go to the world champs each time. I'm sure some of the guys that race these will chime in with more info.

daven 12-27-2011 02:20 PM

You pretty much nailed it fizzwater... There are maybe 20 guys across the U.S. that actively practice F3D in hopes of making the U.S. Team every other year, but there are NO F3D contests at all stateside in as long as I can remember..

No, the F3D planes are not legal in Q40, they are a bit bigger, and use completely different motors.

It is a difficult event, and truly brings out the best pilots and someone willing to make a substantial investment to get into it, especially considering it only happens every other year, and you need more than one plane / setup..

I've considered dabbling in it, but prefer head to head racing like we do in Q40 versus against a clock.

fizzwater2 12-27-2011 02:56 PM

What's one of those MB engines / pipes go for these days, just out of curiosity?

Heck, I fly 424 and 426 mostly because I don't want to spring the "big bucks" for composite airframes for 422.. I'm cheap. :)