RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Q-40 Racing (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/q-40-racing-155/)
-   -   Bad idea # 15 (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/q-40-racing-155/6877845-bad-idea-15-a.html)

ecoliburger 01-09-2008 12:03 AM

Bad idea # 15

I thought I would post this to save someone with my bright idea some time. As I am new to q40 type planes I am leery to fly with no throttle. So I machine down a Perry carb to fit my old used Nelson. I gave no thought to the big boat anchor brass throttle barrel that perry uses for there carbs. Tonight trying to balance this thing I find with the battery cramed back as far as I can I still need to ad almost 3oz of weight to get the CG right. So if you want to add a throttle to a nelson dont use a perry unless you can account for the weight. In hind sight I should have used a supertiger which was one of the other carbs I was considering. So any suggestions for how to add about 8 pounds to the back of this thing?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...ger/q40011.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...ger/q40012.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...ger/q40013.jpg

garys 01-09-2008 12:50 AM

RE: Bad idea # 15

Something doesn't make sense. The weight of the carb barrel really isn't making much difference. If it needs 3 ounces of lead on the tail, it means there's at least 6 to 9 extra ounces of weight on the front, depending on the moment arm from the CG to the nose compaired to the moment arm of the CG to the tail. You do have the fuel tank empty, correct?