Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Glo Drivers

Reply
Old 10-23-2010, 05:01 PM
  #1
SmokinJoe
Thread Starter
 
SmokinJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: HamiltonQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Glo Drivers

Can anyone comment on using the RCATS Glo Driver (advertised at http://www.rcatsystems.com) for starting Q40 engines?

I'm looking for a spare glo driver for Nelson and Glo Bee plugs for Q40 and all I can find on the web are Darrol's glo drivers and the RCATs unit.

Any comments would be appreciated.
SmokinJoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 05:34 PM
  #2
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glo Drivers

the RCATS unit works very well with Q40, been using mine for years. Just get the protective sleeve.

The LIPO life is awesome, only charge a couple times a year and its probably too often.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 09:03 PM
  #3
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,907
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glo Drivers

I didn't feel like spending the $100+ on either the Rcats or the Radio South unit. So I made my own unit using a single 1500 Mah lipo cell.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh17030.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	146.3 KB
ID:	1521787  
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 12:09 AM
  #4
zedad71
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pullman, WA
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glo Drivers

I have a RCATS system, I have installed a Deans connector inline with the plug clip so that I can switch between the clip for racing and the standard coupler for my stunt stuff. I love this ignitor. The leds help me know the amount of prime in the motor and verify a good plug as well. I charge it a couple times a year, just because,,, but its never NOT started my motor
zedad71 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:07 PM.