Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pylon Universe - RC Pylon Racing > Q-500 Racing
Reload this Page >

Newbie looking for advice (Q-25)

Community
Search
Notices
Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Newbie looking for advice (Q-25)

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2011, 06:51 PM
js9467
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie looking for advice (Q-25)

I attended the races at Julian last year, and had a blast. Getting into racing is something that I definately want to do. My girlfriends father has competed for years, and has helped me get into the hobby. I got a Viper 500 for Christmas (currently with a TT .25 on the front). I unfortunatley wont be able to make it to the Polar Pylon in Hudson due to prior commitments, but hope to race in Julian. Having no experience in the sport, do you guys have any suggestions on how to practice?I am a fairly proficient pilot and catch on quick,but have no idea what it will be like taking the pylons into consideration. My obvious goal in the beginning is to leave the racewith a plane that is in tact, but I feel like anything I could do to prepare would be of great benefit. Ive tried it on the sim, and it just doesnt seem realistic. My club doesnt have a course set up, and I have to assume that it would be frowned upon.. What are your thoughts??

Thanks,
Jay
Jay

Old 01-09-2011, 11:00 PM
GREG DOE

Received 26 Likes on 23 Posts
Default RE: Newbie looking for advice (Q-25)

Jay, If I were you I'd ask your girlfriends dad to show you the ropes. It's about time he got back into racing anyway!
Old 01-10-2011, 04:04 AM
js9467

I think he's getting back into it.. He is definitely my 1st line of support, and has done a TON for me..we just live 3 hrs apart so hooking up for a day of practice isn't always feasible..
Old 01-10-2011, 08:19 AM
daven

When I fly and have to practice without pylons I liked to stand on the far right end of the field.