Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING

Reply
Old 05-17-2011, 04:52 AM
  #1
wvrcracer
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING


good day all. I am a newbie to pylon racing and am assebling my first sacrificial lamb-a viper 500 for 424. With the help of some other racers in our local club i just about have it ready to race. i'm looking for some different types of ideas for switch mounting and was hoping some folks would share some pic's of how ya mount your radio switch. Thanks in advance
wvrcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:51 AM
  #2
PylonDave
 
PylonDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: rancho cucamonga, CA
Posts: 469
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING

Most mount the switch on the front of the servo tray and run a wire or pull pull string out the side of the fuse.
PylonDave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 11:14 AM
  #3
kane
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING

This is a servo tray for a QM40 But the same principle applies. I use a paper clip through a hole drilled in the switch to actuate it. I use a paper clip because it is soft and easy to bend plus you don't end up stabbing yourself with the cut end of piano wire, if you choose to use piano wire. String works well too. You still drill a hole through the switch and pull the string through, knot each side so when the string is pulled it grabs the switch. The string exits the airplane on both side with enough length that it can't fall inside and you pull from one side to turn it on and pull from the other to turn it off.

DK
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11537.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	1610387  
kane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 09:36 AM
  #4
wvrcracer
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING

Thanks for sharing the info. I was hoping to see a setup with the pull string. I understand how it would work n all. just hoping to see a photo.
thanks
wvrcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 10:23 AM
  #5
Scorpion Racing
 
Scorpion Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 624
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING

OK, here is the string method in pictures! I use gorilla string (fishing line with a cord, kinda like fly fishing line) thru a 1/16" hole drilled thru the switch and thru both sides of the fuselage. Once I pull the strings thru the fuselage, I tie 2~3 knots in it (in a bunch) so that it won't pull back thru the fuselage and then trim and melt the ends of the string with a heat source so they won't Frey. I align the switch so to the left is always on, and to the right is always off when looking forward toward turn one..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca81588.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	77.1 KB
ID:	1610842  
Scorpion Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 03:12 AM
  #6
wvrcracer
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING

Thanks. Thats what i wanted to see. its just to simple sometimes
wvrcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 04:40 AM
  #7
Alabama Racer
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING

wv - make sure you hook up with some of those flying hillbillies. The help of
an experienced racer will make all the difference in the world in your success.
The races at the Hillbillies club were some of the most enjoyable ones I have
attended.
brad
Alabama Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 10:40 AM
  #8
wvrcracer
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: VIPER 500 SWITCH MOUNTING



Oh yea, dave n mike are hookin me up. should fly it next week. Dave makes it look easy n im ready to start racing. just gotta get the switch in it and balance it then warn everybody at the field. Im sure this is just the begining.

wvrcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:05 AM.